Here are the books which South Africa’s top tech CEOs are reading

South African tech and telecoms CEOs share the books they are reading, and which books they advise you to read to enhance your business career.

By - March 20, 2016 Share on LinkedIn
E-reader surrounded by books

Many people wonder which books they should read to enhance their careers, or to gain more insight into the business world.

Inc recently published a list of great business books, which includes the technology-focussed books “Elon Musk”, “Losing the Signal”, and “The Art of the Start 2.0”.

To get a more local view on great books, MyBroadband asked South Africa’s top tech and telecoms CEOs which books they are current reading.

We also asked them which books they would suggest to any person who wants to further their business career.


Vodacom CEO Shameel Joosub

Shameel Joosub

Joosub is currently reading The Broker by John Grisham – a suspense novel which follows the story of a pardoned prisoner who had tried to broker a deal to sell the world’s most powerful satellite surveillance system to the highest bidder.

For those looking to enhance their business career, Joosub advised three books: Good to Great by James C Collins, The Best Service is No Service by Bill Price and David Jaffe, and End of the Line: The Rise and Fall of AT&T By Leslie Cauley.


MTN SA CEO Mteto Nyati

Mteto Nyati

Nyati is currently reading David & Goliath by Malcolm Gladwell – a book about the probability of improbable events occurring in situations where one outcome is greatly favoured over the other.

For business, Nyati advises three books: The Hard Thing About Hard Things by Ben Horowitz, The Secret to Awesomeness by Joshua Tongol, and How Stella Saved the Farm by Vijay Govindarajan and Chris Trimble.


Cell C CEO Jose dos Santos

Jose dos Santos

Cell C’s dos Santos is currently reading Elon Musk: Tesla, SpaceX, and the Quest for a Fantastic Future by Ashlee Vance.

For business, dos Santos suggests: The Wolf of Wall Street by Jordan Belfort – a non-fiction memoir by a former stockbroker and trader.


Afrihost CEO Gian Visser

Afrihost's Gian Visser

Visser is currently reading Hooked: How to Build Habit-Forming Products by Nir Eyal – a guide for product managers, designers, marketers, and start-ups on how to build habit-forming technology.

For business, Visser suggests: The E-Myth Revisited: Why Most Small Businesses Don’t Work and What to Do About It by Michael E. Gerber, and Influence: The Psychology of Persuasion by Robert B. Cialdini.


Business Connexion CEO Isaac Mophatlane

Isaac Mophatlane

Mophatlane is currently reading two books: Dan Carter – the Autobiography of an All Black Legend, and the Elon Musk Biography.

Mophatlane suggests two books for those who are looking to advance their business career: Steve Jobs by Walter Isaacson, and Tuesday with Moerie by Mitch Albiom.


Vox Telecom CEO Jacques du Toit

Jacques du Toit

Du Toit is currently reading Digital Gold: Bitcoin and the Inside Story of the Misfits and Millionaires Trying to Reinvent Money by Nathaniel Popper.

For business, he advises: Exponential Organizations: Why new organizations are ten times better, faster, and cheaper than yours (and what to do about it) by Salim Ismail.

“It’s about how the business world has seen the birth of a new breed of company – the Exponential Organization,” said du Toit.


Cybersmart CEO Laurie Fialkov

Laurie Fialkov headlineFialkov is currently reading The Legacy of Light by Daniel Arenson – a fantasy trilogy for fans of A Game of Thrones and The Lord of the Rings.

The Legacy of Light is based on the people of Requiem, an ancient kingdom, who can grow wings and scales, breathe fire, and take flight as dragons.


Teraco CEO Lex van Wyk

Lex van Wyk

Van Wyk is currently reading How Long Will South Africa Survive? by RW Johnson, which analyses Jacob Zuma’s rule, and looks at the increasingly dire state of the South African economy.

Johnson concludes that South Africa is heading towards a likely International Monetary Fund bailout, which will in turn lead to a regime change of some kind.


Share your thoughts

Join the conversation

Connect with Us

androidappletwitterfacebookgoogleplusfeednewsletter

Poll

Do you use Please Call Me messages?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...

More News

How to charge your iPhone faster and make its battery last longer

battery-header

Here’s how you can charge your Apple iPhone faster and make its battery last longer.

Google testing new Material Design on search page

Google logo

A new Material Design version of Google’s main search page is being tested.

4 new elements added to periodic table

Periodic table

Four new elements have been added to the periodic table after being approved by the International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry.

Please Call Me negotiations stalled after Makate court application

Please call me on phone

Please call me “founder” Nkosana Kenneth Makate has stalled negotiations with Vodacom by going back to the Constitutional Court.

Free MyBroadband Newsletter
×