View Full Version : Windows XP R325, Office 2003 R500
freeek
29-04-2004, 05:51 PM
http://www.softwarecentre.co.za
How real is this place? It seems dodgy to me. Any1 In Durban care to go check it out!
..- dot dot dash ;)
R325 for Windows Xp. Its almost within my budget now. [:D] Its about how much we should be paying for ADSL in SA.
<b><hr noshade size="1"></b><font size="2"><font color="red"><b>You can take Telkom out of the Post Office but you can't take the Post Office out of Telkom.</b></font id="red"></font id="size2">
Myrrdin
29-04-2004, 07:37 PM
It looks great. Gonna buy something even if it is just to keep them going. Sounds good.
Of course I don't look busy.....I did it right the first time.
Andre
29-04-2004, 09:26 PM
Doesn't sound legit. Photoshop on the Adobe web site is US$649, but these guys have it for R500.
The cheapest price for WinXP Pro on Froogle is $85 and Phoroshop CS8 is $499... hhhmmmmmmm..
<font color="navy"><font size="1"><b>Where others have progress, we have Telkom.</b>
Hellkom website - http://telkomsucks.0catch.com</font id="size1"></font id="navy">
I'd be careful - whilst lack of same doesn't imply a dicey business, a bricks-and-mortar address and a fixed-line telephone on both the website and the whois.co.za register, would at least provide a feeling of comfort to prospective purchasers, not least me...
rasputyn
30-04-2004, 01:22 AM
Also sounds a bit dodgy to me,
I have this rule of not doing business with anyone I don't know that uses a pre-paid number...oldest trick in the book that one.
Whoop Di Doo Basil...But What Does It All Mean???
Hi guys
I have contacted this company and asked them about the legality of the products. Will let you know as soon as I get a response…
Regards,
RPM
rpm@myadsl.co.za
Hi guys
This company came back to me very quickly. Crain from SoftwareCentre writes:
“We import software from Uk and source cancelled orders,surplus stock, liquidation stock etc. As you are probably aware, South Africans are ripped off for software”
Regards,
RPM
rpm@myadsl.co.za
Now that's interesting - he's saying that the margins of other suppliers are exorbitant. I thought the packaged software market was so cut-throat, that dealers have cut their margins to the bone, and that hardware dealers are bundling software free-of-charge with their equipment, purely to move boxes? Wonder if he somehow is missing a levy of sorts on his costings (customs comes to mind - isn't software imports subject to excise?
mithrandi
30-04-2004, 10:45 PM
Photoshop for R500 is either pirated, or not what you think it is...
<hr noshade size="1">mithrandi, i Ainil en-Balandor, a faer Ambar
freeek
01-05-2004, 07:10 PM
I agree with mithrandi. It seems abit to cheap. The company has to make some profit as well. Very dodgy. If someone acutally gets some stuff from keep me and everyone posted.
..- dot dot dash ;)
Hi there
Did you notice the site is not online anymore … I guess there is a lesson to be learned here.
Regards,
RPM
rpm@myadsl.co.za
neobyte
05-05-2004, 01:06 PM
Lol[:D][:D][:D]
And those of you that think that piracy is not monitored in this country???
ROFL - [:D] [:D] Ja well no fine...another reason why we need appropriate regulation...
Andre
05-05-2004, 03:23 PM
What does copyright legistlation in SA say about this sort of thing?
There is a certain web site whose name I won't mention that sells pirate games for cheaper than overseas prices and they have been operating for a few years already.
freeek
05-05-2004, 03:31 PM
hmmm If you talking about the same place that im thinking of, there is a flaw in the system they are manipulating it. The way i understand it is that, they have originals and they just making backups of it. If you buy a backup its illegal for u to have it but not them. They are really making alot of money, A friend that I know buys games from them. He said they use to deliver it in tazz and corsa's but know they drive GTi's and such.
I so badly want http://www.softwarecentre.co.za to be legit. If Windows Xp were that Price Im sure so many more people would purchase it.
..- dot dot dash ;)
The Source... they advertise in the CapeAds every week, how they haven't been busted wide open is quite amazing.. they've got a truckload of stuff on the site
<font color="navy"><font size="1"><b>Where others have progress, we have Telkom.</b>
Hellkom website - http://telkomsucks.0catch.com</font id="size1"></font id="navy">
freeek
06-05-2004, 10:07 PM
they are making a **** load of money!
..- dot dot dash ;)
Andre
07-05-2004, 09:35 AM
I was thinking of [better not post the address], but it starts with cyber. R149 for any game.