View Full Version : www.softwarecentre.co.za
guest
26-05-2004, 11:26 AM
Hey Guys
I am Inspector Visser of the Johannesburg Commercial Branch in the SAPS. Anyone had dealings with www.softwarecentre.co.za?
Heh? The members of this forum are highly critical of dubious ventures such as this one, and would not deliberately expose themselves to illegalities of any kind - see http://www.myadsl.co.za/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=2631
lewstherin
31-05-2004, 12:25 PM
I haven't had any dealings with SoftwareCentre, but I have had dealings with another bunch of crooks you SAPS may want to check out - www.telkom.co.za
<font color="blue">Telkom needs a leash, ICASA needs some guts, and the </font id="blue"><font color="red">SA consumer</font id="red"><font color="blue"> needs to make it happen</font id="blue">
guest
31-05-2004, 07:37 PM
Funny enough, I agree, but serious I was only looking for victims. If you know about someone my number is 870-5300 - Johannesburg Specialized Commercial Crime Unit - Electronic Fraud Division
<blockquote id="quote"><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica" id="quote">quote:<hr height="1" noshade id="quote">I was only looking for victims<hr height="1" noshade id="quote"></blockquote id="quote"></font id="quote">
We are all victims on MyADSL. We wouldn't be spending so much time here if we didn't believe that Telkom was offering a sub standard product at a criminal price.
In SA when the state owns a company thats "legitimate", its considered business as usual, but turn the cards around and let it be a foriegn owned company or private concern, they would of sent The Scorpions around to check it out, because it's making too much money.
<b><hr noshade size="1"></b><font size="2"><font color="red"><b>You can take Telkom out of the Post Office but you can't take the Post Office out of Telkom.</b></font id="red"></font id="size2">
I think Inspector Visser means victims of the www.softwarecentre.co.za scam...
<font color="navy"><font size="1"><b>Where others have progress, we have Telkom.</b>
Hellkom website - http://telkomsucks.0catch.com</font id="size1"></font id="navy">
antowan
01-06-2004, 08:32 AM
Nice try Insp. Visser. The site in question has been shut down. So I guess you got your info. If this is a joke, it is a good one, but for some reason I think this is ligit. Good to know the police are aware of MyADSL.
Cheers
Antowan
He who does not understand the value of war at the right time, cannot comprehend the value of life at any time - Anonymous
Karnaugh
01-06-2004, 08:56 PM
was that the place offering "legal" copies of Windows for like R300?
- Colin Alston
colin at alston dot za dot org
"Getting traffic shaping right is easy and can be summed up in one word: Dont." -- George Barnett
That is the one…and a bundled package (Windows XP, Office XP, etc.) for a R 1000-00 :-) Was indeed too good to be true…
RPM
rpm@myadsl.co.za
Karnaugh
02-06-2004, 12:13 AM
"Johannesburg Specialized Commercial Crime Unit - Electronic Fraud Division" that also sounds too good to be true ;)
- Colin Alston
colin at alston dot za dot org
"Getting traffic shaping right is easy and can be summed up in one word: Dont." -- George Barnett
guest
02-06-2004, 08:06 PM
www.commercialbranch.com | www.419legal.org
Comrade Borris
02-06-2004, 08:33 PM
Both those sites look suspiciously similar to the layout of the forum.... [;)]
Conspiracy anyone?
Great to see the boys in blue have a nice looking website, and that you have a presence on the web ;)
I don't even remember how I stumbled on this thread, but I have bookmarked commercialbranch.com - amazing - the info one picks up on MyADSL that you just would not otherwise know about.
419legal.org keeps trying to redirect to mydomainx.com, which has no A record (or much of anything else in its DNS Zone file).
I find it interesting that even the SAPS have decided to host their Commercial Branch site overseas (http://www.dnsreport.com/tools/dnsreport.ch?domain=commercialbranch.com)...
Your www.commercialbranch.com A record is:
www.commercialbranch.com. A 81.21.65.17 [TTL=600] [UK]
Chris
28-12-2004, 09:00 PM
Maybe they could be more hasty in shutting down illegal game copying websites like www.defcon5.co.za and www.thesourceltd.com...
arf9999
28-12-2004, 10:45 PM
Dominic,
I think your highlighting those addresses has just helped them to some free marketing...
If you want to shut them down (and both seem to be hosted overseas), why not mail EA Games or Microsoft?
-A
mikkelz_za
29-12-2004, 08:21 AM
Good point.
Chris
29-12-2004, 09:40 AM
I have e-mailed SAFACT a while ago and they replied that they are investigating...yeah right.
ARF9999: Why do you think they are hosted by international ISP's?
arf9999
29-12-2004, 11:53 AM
Cos I'm capped, and can't open either.
Chris
29-12-2004, 05:55 PM
I can view www.thesourceltd.com fast ( I just got capped today) and Defcon 5....
ARF9999: Why do you think they are hosted by international ISP's?
Hosted in Germany: www.defcon5.co.za. A 213.133.104.99 [TTL=86400] [DE] (http://www.dnsreport.com/tools/dnsreport.ch?domain=defcon5.co.za)
Hosted in SA: www.thesourceltd.com. A 196.7.147.24 [TTL=86400] [ZA] (http://www.dnsreport.com/tools/dnsreport.ch?domain=thesourceltd.com)
pnaidoo
02-03-2006, 10:16 PM
I know I am reviving an old post, but I want to let you guys know that the guy who ran this website was eventually arrested in Ranburg, best of all he was an ex-cop.
He was found guilty on a number of fraud charges after pleading guilty in the Randburg Magistrates court. He was sentenced to 8 years imprisonment, of which a number of these years (i think 4) was suspended.
supersunbird
02-03-2006, 10:18 PM
Old? Prehistoric is more like it...
stoke
02-03-2006, 10:39 PM
sweet ... well worth the revive !
Freshy-ZN
02-03-2006, 11:07 PM
Capt Visser, can you arrest Poison Ivy for stealing oxygen?
eye_suc
03-03-2006, 08:25 AM
now, what about that bloke that copies you games and mails it to you? all for the low low price of R150 per game?