View Full Version : Hosting company for sale
ForSale21
23-08-2004, 05:16 PM
Hosting company for sale:
5000 domains and a re-occurring of R500 000.00 pm.
Only serious buyers need reply. (mc721221@yahoo.com)
Karnaugh
24-08-2004, 09:29 PM
sounds like BS.
- Colin Alston
colin@slipgate.za.net
"Getting traffic shaping right is easy and can be summed up in one word: Dont." -- George Barnett
chopsky
24-08-2004, 09:57 PM
lol...only serious buyers?
This aint the place methinks to be selling a company mate
Burny1
25-08-2004, 12:18 AM
And did you guys see the e-mail address? Anyone with a company turning over half a million a month would have a company e-mail - what ****ER!!!
Hi folks
I decided to contact this guy to find out what the story was. I received the following response:
“Hi RPM,
Thanks for the interest.
We are unfortunately looking for a offer. There is no fixed price.
The bottom line is 5000 domains and a re-occurring of R500 000.00 pm / R6
million per annum.
There are about 20 servers and all the Windows servers are fully licensed.
You would need to give me an initial offer and then I'd be prepared to go
into more detail.
ta,
Mike”
RPM
rpm@myadsl.co.za
TheRabbi
25-08-2004, 08:46 AM
Burny1 - Are you joking or are you just a moron?
Ok...received another reply:
"will be supplying you with no further information as it seems you are only looking to post it on your forum."
RPM
rpm@myadsl.co.za
TheRabbi
25-08-2004, 11:03 AM
rpm - were you interested or are you just stuffing them around?
For the uninformed - this is no way to sell a business, nor is it acceptable for postings of this type to be made to a public forum of this nature. Hence, RPM's perfectly justified investigation, as we must not be seen to be a vehicle for endeavours that may turn out to be nothing more than a scam. If genuine and real, I would've expected that a professional invitation for offers to purchase would be made, including things like amenability to due diligence and current market vsluation...
Hi TheRabbi
I was both interested an investigative. My initial email was intended to get more information about this company and try to ascertain if it is a worthwhile investment, but when the discussion here started I thought it might be good to inform members about this correspondence. I think it is completely justified to inform members publicly about my dealings with ‘Mike’ since he decided to advertise on a public forum. If it is a scam it will be great if somebody can uncover it and delete this post. If not it will definitely be advantageous to the company to supply more information. Currently it does not look to great for Mike and friends…
MBS: Spot on as usual!
Regards,
RPM
rpm@myadsl.co.za
I have to agree with mbs:
* One would not expect to sell one's business on a public forum unless said forum was dedicated to this type of activity
* Sprouting turnover numbers to get a reaction is meaningless. In the hosting business there are numerous factors at play such as hosting & bandwidth charges, churn rate, contract lengths, depreciation costs etc etc
* contact re this was made via an associate and the answers received were also rather vague. No one in their right mind makes and offer for anything without doing a due dilligence ito contracts, audited financials, asset base and so on...
So we'll see where this goes....