Facebook   Twitter    YouTube    RSS Feed    Android App    iPhone and iPad App     BlackBerry App    
Subscribe to Newsletter



Page 65 of 65 FirstFirst ... 15556162636465
Results 961 to 974 of 974

Thread: Things to do when your cap runs out

  1. #961
    Grandmaster Srack0verflow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Die Suip-kus
    Posts
    1,789
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Pada View Post

    Microsoft, Nvidia and AMD all use CDN's that have mirrors in South Africa. I don't know about any others though.
    NCSoft uses Akamia for their clients and updates too. usefull as something like Aion is 15GB, CDN i think also ensure the things come down at full speed

  2. #962

    Default

    hey guys...I know this has been asked 3 billion times on this forum, but can you access the local cap before abusing the international data at all? I can't afford my uncapped anymore and my parents have 8gb Telkom.

  3. #963
    Grandmaster Srack0verflow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Die Suip-kus
    Posts
    1,789
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Positively Negative View Post
    hey guys...I know this has been asked 3 billion times on this forum, but can you access the local cap before abusing the international data at all? I can't afford my uncapped anymore and my parents have 8gb Telkom.
    there is an exploit that least gives you a chance at nailing the local first, but it's far from reliable... anyway, what you do is make sure you're capped before the 1st and have the router keep the session alive.. come new month don't reset the router, then local will be used first
    Last edited by Srack0verflow; 29-12-2011 at 09:33 PM.

  4. #964

    Default

    That's not correct srackoverflow. The work around allows you to utilize the previous months local cap to it's full as long as your router does not dc. In effect you are still on last month's session while using local. When you have used all your local up then you reset your router and automatically initiate the new month's session which starts with blended cap only.
    Btw, you can utilize the new month's blended cap at the same time with this work around by creating a dial up connection to Telkom ISP.

  5. #965
    Senior Member diane7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    481

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Srack0verflow View Post
    you see diane, you have to modify the hosts. file (see the link Pada gave) to force google stuff to run on local. uhm, how old is your son? kids are pretty tech savy these days, maybe he could help?

    LOL I have 2 Sons at home at the moment 16y and 20y They not interested in PC related stuff ,Still think Im on do2 (gigs )
    They broke there pc 2wice now ,now everything is on my PC ( steam is the biggest hogger..)

    That other thread is so long and complicated for a dyslexic old Far........ some screen shots would help
    Thanks di ♥

  6. #966
    Senior Member diane7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    481

    Default

    I m still sitting with idotic Sons THEY broke there pc . Now all on mine .

    Im not woried about Facebook But I like to watch Documentarys on YouTube .( In HD)

    the thing is that kids still think I get 2 Gigs ( mom downlloading all the QI )
    linkwont work that im Capped ;-)

  7. #967
    SmoothOokerMaximus The_Librarian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Castle Plun-Darr
    Posts
    89,830
    Blog Entries
    19

    Default

    Got capped once too much.

    now on afrihost 1mb uncapped. Bliss not having to worry about getting capped.

  8. #968
    King of the Hippies copacetic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Fighting my homunculus
    Posts
    49,870
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    What's a 'cap'?
    Behind every dark cloud lies the sun, waiting to boil you alive.
    *girds loins*

  9. #969
    Senior Member diane7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    481

    Default

    Metacafe now dont work on capped .. roll on Februray ;-)

  10. #970

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by copacetic View Post
    What's a 'cap'?
    +1 Mweb Uncapped FTW !

  11. #971
    King of de Jungle Garyvdh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    District 9
    Posts
    75,271
    Blog Entries
    21

    Default

    lol... painful old days.

  12. #972

    Default

    Wow, this thread is a blast from the past.

    Remember routesentry?

  13. #973
    Super Grandmaster ld13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Helderberg (Cape Town)
    Posts
    9,182
    Blog Entries
    6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Zyzzyva View Post
    Remember routesentry?
    It will be missed.... although I can already see how a few peeps using eg. el cheapo uncapped accounts would want to prioritize certain traffic by splitting these over a backup-type of capped account.
    ic's back, back again . . .

  14. #974

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Picard View Post

    Meet people in the dark???
    Meeting people in the dark is usually the most fun type of meetings.

Page 65 of 65 FirstFirst ... 15556162636465

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •