Facebook   Twitter    YouTube    RSS Feed    Android App    iPhone and iPad App     BlackBerry App    
Subscribe to Newsletter

Page 1 of 5 1 2345 LastLast

Thread: National diploma vs degree

Default National diploma vs degree

hi guys i am in my final year of the National diploma Information Technology though NMMU

I have heard some people say a Degree is better, but hear arguments from both sides, but i would like to get the professional opinion of the forum, on who you would employ and the pay difference, and is the natdip accepted overseas, and by company's.

I also know that the BTECH degree is equivalent to a honors.

hi gboy,

ok first the disclaimer, i'm a BTech graduate so might be somewhat biased as most degree holders are regardless of their origin, i also have almost 5 years experience as a professional software developer and am a sun certified java monkey

personally i would lean towards employing a tech graduate as uni grads in my opinion and experience have often lost the plot in their focus on theory. not all of them mind you, a uni grad with the ability to APPLY his/her knowledge is a rare but worthy find, on average a tech grad is more likely to have said ability, but again might lack the theory, so a techie with the theory firmly in his/her grasp is an equally rare but worthy find

oh and i graduated JUST before techs got called institutes or universities of technology so please excuse the ancient terms tech and university, but i think you know what i mean ... so who would i employ and pay difference ... i would employ EITHER, just as my company actually does, i would lean toward tech grads though, pay difference? none, over here the initial salary might be influenced by a master's, but master's degrees in IT are in my opinion worhtless, as for B/honours degrees, they all get paid the same from the start and from there on its on the job performance and experience that sets you apart, the company will never look at your degree again ;-)