Facebook   Twitter    YouTube    RSS Feed    Android App    iPhone and iPad App     BlackBerry App    
Subscribe to Newsletter



Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: What is the Diff. 32K and 64K sim?

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    East Rand
    Posts
    470

    Smile What is the Diff. 32K and 64K sim?

    Hi All,

    Can someone please explain.
    Buzz always bigger is better.

  2. #2
    Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Gordon's Bay(Home), Somerset West(Work)
    Posts
    2,286

    Default

    I've always wanted to know this myself.
    Has joined the Cell C Revolution... Whoosh!!

  3. #3
    Super Grandmaster PostmanPot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    27,092

    Default

    Size/capacity?
    SouthBit Data Recovery - www.southbit.co.za
    Electronic Music
    PM me for cheap PC parts
    Quote Originally Posted by cableguy View Post
    Each account is allocated to only 1 x user.

  4. #4

    Default

    Apart from the obvious, size, they need different power levels to operate.
    64k needs more power than 32k to works.
    I had to find this out to add them both on our DIR-451 (3G router).

  5. #5

    Default

    Heard that 64k is better for 3G calls & data cards
    Synergy Designs
    Responsive Design - View on your Mobile Device!

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    East Rand
    Posts
    470

    Default

    Hi All,

    For one I would say you could store more info on a larger sim.
    Phone book numbers.

    I bought one pay as you go card, the other is a weekender package.
    The weekender package has a 64K sim. Pay as you go 32K sim.
    Qoute "64K Sim with 3G services"

    I'm currently using pay as you go sim.
    I still get 3.5G on my Nokia phone.
    Download speed is :456kbps and Upload speed:322kbps.

    Should I get any better.

  7. #7
    Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Gordon's Bay(Home), Somerset West(Work)
    Posts
    2,286

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by HowTo View Post
    Hi All,

    For one I would say you could store more info on a larger sim.
    Phone book numbers.

    I bought one pay as you go card, the other is a weekender package.
    The weekender package has a 64K sim. Pay as you go 32K sim.
    Qoute "64K Sim with 3G services"

    I'm currently using pay as you go sim.
    I still get 3.5G on my Nokia phone.
    Download speed is :456kbps and Upload speed:322kbps.

    Should I get any better.
    Your SIM doesnt determine your speed(AFAIK at least).
    Has joined the Cell C Revolution... Whoosh!!

  8. #8
    Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    NWP near Rustenburg
    Posts
    1,250

    Default

    And yet if you recall when Virgin launched data, they had to make special arrangements to get 128k SIMS to data customers because the 32K ones wouldn't work! I never did understand that either....

  9. #9

    Default

    It's the size of the flash memory on the smart card, the bigger the size the more you can store on the SIM card.

    The '3G requires 64K+' thing has nothing to do with the SIM functionality, but rather that the 3G protocols require more software to be loaded on the SIM than the 32K SIM can hold.

  10. #10

    Default

    I have a 32k SIM and my 3G's fine on my phone , datacard and 3G router.
    I don't think 64k in the minimum.

  11. #11
    Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Gordon's Bay(Home), Somerset West(Work)
    Posts
    2,286

    Default

    I've even seen a few 64k SIM's that work perfectly fine in a phone, but it refuses to work in a e220.
    Has joined the Cell C Revolution... Whoosh!!

  12. #12

    Default

    I also swap between 32k and 64k with no apparent difference in speed.

  13. #13
    Grandmaster SUPERMAN89's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Durban | South Africa
    Posts
    1,363
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    you can store a large amount of sms's (50) as said before its a so-called "for 3G " sim card,thats what its says on the package lol

  14. #14
    Vodacom Representative
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    (mostly) Plattekloof, Cape Town
    Posts
    12,066

    Default

    Outside of the obvious capacity difference, either works fine in any terminal.

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    East Rand
    Posts
    470

    Default

    Tnx to all for replying.

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •