Facebook   Twitter    YouTube    RSS Feed    Android App    iPhone and iPad App     BlackBerry App    
Subscribe to Newsletter

Thread: From IT Technician to Systems Developer?

Master

Question From IT Technician to Systems Developer?

I am currently an IT technician who would soon enough be an administrator of some IT systems... which would be a very technical role.

I am now deciding whether to apply for a job as a Systems Developer (ERP/Syspro) which would move from a technical role to a hybrid role which includes learning business processes and improving on them (jnr position).
    I would assume this would open many more doors for me.....

Would this be a good move or bad move?
    Would going into the business side of IT conflict with the Technical side, or work well together?

Well i see it as only a good thing. Unless you dont want to move away from the technical aspect.

Make the change

Blog Entries

Sysdev can pay very nicely.
    "To live is the rarest thing in the world. Most people exist. That is all..." - Oscar Wilde

Sysdev can pay v v nicely, and having the technical grounding can be very useful...

The hours can suck sometimes though, but its the payoff for the bigger salary and bigger responsibility, oh and I hope you're ok with documentation, esp for ERP type stuff... its a paper making monster.
    Quote Originally Posted by Korn1 View Post
    I have been called a retard my whole life

Master

Well.. paperwork isnt the greatest

And pay isnt a concern right now.... (would be a bonus)

The problem would be that I enjoy my job a lot... happy to go to work in the mornings... however I cant be stuck at what Im happy with as I will never grow my career....

Is there a lot of growth in an ERP and would my technical side grow further of take a back seat role?

There is alot of growth in ERP stuff as more and more companies are realising its important and embracing it alot more.