Facebook   Twitter    YouTube    RSS Feed    Android App    iPhone and iPad App     BlackBerry App    
Subscribe to Newsletter



Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17

Thread: Calling toll free landline numbers with Vodacom

  1. #1
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    SDF + PLZ
    Posts
    5,787

    Default Calling toll free landline numbers with Vodacom

    I have raised an issue with my bank, FNB, as to why they do not provide a toll free number for clients calling from cellular services such as Vodacom.
    The man at the bank is claiming that they have tried to set this up with VC, but it's beyond their control.

    V3G and other astute forumites, is there a facility available for places like banks to provide toll free numbers to cellular users?
    If so, can you provide me with ammo to fight this with the bank.

  2. #2

    Default

    Yeah this will be useful, come on vodacom, mtn, cellc make a plan, you still gonna make money out of it.

  3. #3

    Default

    I think its the celluar networks against who are against this for some reason, I dont know why but its like they dont wanna give you toll free calls even if it is an emergency eg a lost bank card.

  4. #4
    Vodacom Representative
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    (mostly) Plattekloof, Cape Town
    Posts
    12,066

    Default

    If you call a land-line tollfree number, Vodacom must pay Telkom the interconnect fees. Obviously without any chance to recover the costs.

    So one would want to set up a mobile tollfree number, a bit like 155.

    A quick check seems to indicate that we've not had requests like this from institutions who run these kind of services but I'll check some more.

    Obviously these companies will have to pick up the cost of the mobile calls and I suspect they feel providing a land-line tollfree number is good enough.

  5. #5

    Default

    These days more rural folk have easier access to a cellphone then a landline, would make sense for businesses to hook up toll free mobile numbers.

  6. #6
    Vodacom Representative
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    (mostly) Plattekloof, Cape Town
    Posts
    12,066

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by catweasel View Post
    These days more rural folk have easier access to a cellphone then a landline, would make sense for businesses to hook up toll free mobile numbers.
    Yup, I'll pick it up with our guys who look after the corporates.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    HALFWAY HOUSE , GAUTENG
    Posts
    155

    Default

    Please add that some folk like me like to call tollfree/collect from abroad and can't do so to a mobile. We are about to tell Telkom om in sy letterlike moer te vlieg, but how can I then phone home collect?

  8. #8
    Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    NWP near Rustenburg
    Posts
    1,250

    Default

    Interestingly, MWeb subscribers always had the option of a free Vodacom number to access their support helpline (1177 free from any Vodacom number) -- so it shouldn't be a big deal for banks and others to emulate. That said, the 1177 number doesn't appear to have worked for ages now (at least not for me) and MWeb support is through an alternative (paid) number.

  9. #9
    Vodacom Representative
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    (mostly) Plattekloof, Cape Town
    Posts
    12,066

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CORY View Post
    Please add that some folk like me like to call tollfree/collect from abroad and can't do so to a mobile. We are about to tell Telkom om in sy letterlike moer te vlieg, but how can I then phone home collect?
    You could get a job and pay for your calls

    But I'll pass it on.

  10. #10
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    SDF + PLZ
    Posts
    5,787

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by vodacom3g View Post
    If you call a land-line tollfree number, Vodacom must pay Telkom the interconnect fees. Obviously without any chance to recover the costs.

    So one would want to set up a mobile tollfree number, a bit like 155.

    A quick check seems to indicate that we've not had requests like this from institutions who run these kind of services but I'll check some more.

    Obviously these companies will have to pick up the cost of the mobile calls and I suspect they feel providing a land-line tollfree number is good enough.
    Thanks for looking into this.

    A few months ago I told TELKOM to vlieg in hul moor, and I believe that in this day and age there's a large number like me that no longer use TELKOM either by choice or lack of availability.

    I'm pushing for FNB to give me a toll free number to contact them on using my cell phone.

    Here's the latest comment from FNB.

    I have confirmed with Vodacom that if you have your credit card though them, that is the only time they use the toll free option, but if you dial any Telkom you will be billed. Currently Vodacom has no planes to allow toll free via Telkom for ones banking.
    From yesterday

    I can not answer, as to why the cell net works and tellkom do not allow toll free between them selves I have put the same question to Telkom and Vodacom, but I have not received any answers today I will update you with those details as soon as I receive them.

  11. #11
    Vodacom Representative
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    (mostly) Plattekloof, Cape Town
    Posts
    12,066

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Frankie View Post
    Thanks for looking into this.

    A few months ago I told TELKOM to vlieg in hul moor, and I believe that in this day and age there's a large number like me that no longer use TELKOM either by choice or lack of availability.

    I'm pushing for FNB to give me a toll free number to contact them on using my cell phone.

    Here's the latest comment from FNB.

    From yesterday

    Please keep me updated. As posted above, doing tollfree via Telkom does not make sense but maybe a mobile-specific tollfree number could.

    You can always get your FNB contact to call me direct.

  12. #12
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    SDF + PLZ
    Posts
    5,787

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by vodacom3g View Post
    Please keep me updated. As posted above, doing tollfree via Telkom does not make sense but maybe a mobile-specific tollfree number could.

    You can always get your FNB contact to call me direct.
    V3G thanks for all your efforts.

    Once you confirm that the toll free feature is available for companies like FNB, I'll give them your number.

  13. #13
    Vodacom Representative
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    (mostly) Plattekloof, Cape Town
    Posts
    12,066

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Frankie View Post
    V3G thanks for all your efforts.

    Once you confirm that the toll free feature is available for companies like FNB, I'll give them your number.
    Quote Originally Posted by Frankie View Post
    V3G thanks for all your efforts.

    Once you confirm that the toll free feature is available for companies like FNB, I'll give them your number.
    Might be a bit of a chicken and egg situation. If such a product does not exist, it's probably because no-one asked fot it. Like any business decision, you tend to only develop a product if there is a clear customer.

    So, if FNB is serious, I'll gladly chat to them.

  14. #14

    Default

    I would like to have a facility to receive SMSes at no cost sent to me, and I will pick up the tab, can you provide me with such a service?

  15. #15
    Mafia Addict GhostSixFour's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Rock <> Hard place
    Posts
    9,297

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Intoweb View Post
    I would like to have a facility to receive SMSes at no cost sent to me, and I will pick up the tab, can you provide me with such a service?
    Reviving why?
    So what's your excuse for not using Linux?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •