Facebook   Twitter    YouTube    RSS Feed    Android App    iPhone and iPad App     BlackBerry App    
Subscribe to Newsletter

Thread: MCPD Certification

Lightbulb MCPD Certification

Hi Guys

I have my national diploma in electrical engineering (specialized in programming) from a technikon. I have been working for a few years now in software development, specifically C#. I'm thinking about getting MCPD certification, but the info on the internets is too confusing, I have no idea how to approach it.
    Questions

1. As I understand you first need to write the two exams to get MCTS and then another 1 to get MCPD. That right?
    2. Is it mandatory to attend classes, or can you study using books/online resources and simply write the exams. Where do you write the exams (online or at a physical place)? I'm based in Cape Town.
    3. Ballpark figures. What will it cost to only write the exams vs. what it will cost to go to the classes first.
    4. How long does it take to get certified. i.e. Is it a one-week course or does it take months of studying?
    5. To anyone who is an MCPD, is it worth it?

Much appreciated.

Quote Originally Posted by firewall View Post
    Hi Guys

I have my national diploma in electrical engineering (specialized in programming) from a technikon. I have been working for a few years now in software development, specifically C#. I'm thinking about getting MCPD certification, but the info on the internets is too confusing, I have no idea how to approach it.
    Questions

1. As I understand you first need to write the two exams to get MCTS and then another 1 to get MCPD. That right?
    2. Is it mandatory to attend classes, or can you study using books/online resources and simply write the exams. Where do you write the exams (online or at a physical place)? I'm based in Cape Town.
    3. Ballpark figures. What will it cost to only write the exams vs. what it will cost to go to the classes first.