Facebook   Twitter    YouTube    RSS Feed    Android App    iPhone and iPad App     BlackBerry App    
Subscribe to Newsletter



Page 5 of 43 FirstFirst 12345 678915 ... LastLast
Results 61 to 75 of 637

Thread: Understanding SNR and Attenuation Rates

  1. #61

    Default

    Link Information

    Uptime: 0 days, 18:36:24

    Modulation: G.992.1 annex A

    Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 128 / 384

    Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [MB/MB]: 44,15 / 424,71

    Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: -1,0 / 5,0

    Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 31,5 / 58,0

    SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 17,0 / 16,5

    Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / TSTC

    Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0

    Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / 0

    Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0

    Loss of Link (Remote): 0

    Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 0 / 0

    FEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 0

    CRC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 290

    HEC Errors (Up/Down): 0 / 96



    If anyone could help me out

    drop me an email @ brentkruger@krunity.co.za

    sorry abit of a noob in this

  2. #62
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    North-West
    Posts
    319
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default

    The lower the line attenuation the better, a low attenuation usually is because of a close distance to the exchange.
    The higher the SNR the better, I think the higher the SNR the less noise on the line.

    Your values are quite bad, mine is

    Att: 12 / 7
    SNR: 30 / 26

    According to this site your max speed for adsl1 is 3Mbit, and 4Mbit for adsl2+ when the upgrades come in. As opposed to 8Mbit / 23Mbit on my line.

    If you are close to your exchange then phone telkom to check out your line, if you plan to stay on a lower speed line then don't worry about it.
    Hope this helps

  3. #63

    Default

    When visiting my father in law over the weekend i checked his line stats (Down) and he had an attenuation of 6.5 and an SNR of 41. He is basically less than 50m from the exchange.

    Its a pity he can only afford 384k! Its a sin to waste a line like that.
    DWC guys do it with High Frequency - www.dwc.za.net

  4. #64

    Default

    hi guys,

    i just checked my line stats and i dont understand something,

    noise margin: 6.6 down, 9.0 up
    line attenuation: 63.5 down, 31.5 up

    and yet i'm only about 2.5km away from the exchange, i'm going to phone telkom and ask them what's going on, any1 help me as to which number to phone and what to ask.
    thanks.
    Very good European Usenet provider! Probably the lowest prices around, please do try them out

    UsenetBucket - European Usenet Provider

  5. #65
    Grandmaster nuyork's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    WORK (Hillcrest, PTA) / LIVE (Fourways, JHB)
    Posts
    1,301

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 11masoodt View Post
    hi guys,

    i just checked my line stats and i dont understand something,

    noise margin: 6.6 down, 9.0 up
    line attenuation: 63.5 down, 31.5 up

    and yet i'm only about 2.5km away from the exchange, i'm going to phone telkom and ask them what's going on, any1 help me as to which number to phone and what to ask.
    thanks.
    Could be bad copper wiring, as it is in my case in Lonehill. Which area are you in?
    Keith and the Girl - the BEST podcast on the net!

  6. #66
    Senior Member Ludjer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Pretoria
    Posts
    349
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    i would pay to move so close to a exchange lols
    Webafrica Uncapped 4Mb| AXXESS uncapped express| 10MB ADSL
    24' LED x2 |Intel i7 950|12 gig DDR3 1600| 6TB+SSD 64gig|560 TI |64bit win7 ult

  7. #67

  8. #68

    Default Your results make mine look insipid..

    Port Elizabeth

    --- DSL Information ---
    DSL Driver Version: 3.4.4.10.0.1
    DSL VPI/VCI: 8/35
    DSL Status: Up
    DSL Mode: G.dmt
    DSL Channel: 0
    DSL Upstream Rate: 512 kbps
    DSL Downstream Rate: 4096 kbps - Speedtest shows 3.5Mb/0.43Mb

    Down up
    DSL Noise Margin: 270 dB 201 dB
    DSL Attenuation: 85 dB 282 dB
    DSL Transmit Power: -901 dBm -901 dBm

  9. #69

    Default

    I think mine are ok :

    Modem Status
    Connection Status Connected
    Us Rate (Kbps) 512
    Ds Rate (Kbps) 4096
    US Margin 13
    DS Margin 11
    Trained Modulation ADSL_G.dmt
    LOS Errors 0
    DS Line Attenuation 21
    US Line Attenuation 10
    Peak Cell Rate 1207
    CRC Rx Fast 0
    CRC Tx Fast 0
    CRC Rx Interleaved 0
    CRC Tx Interleaved 0
    Path Mode Fastonly

    DSL Statistics
    Near End F4 Loop Back Count 0
    Near End F5 Loop Back Count 0

  10. #70

    Default

    Mode: G.DMT
    Type: Fast
    Line Coding: Trellis On
    Status: No Defect
    Link Power State: L0

    Downstream Upstream
    SNR Margin (dB): 30.3 16.0
    Attenuation (dB): 29.0 15.5
    Output Power (dBm): -1.1 4.4
    Attainable Rate (Kbps): 10944 872
    Rate (Kbps): 384 128
    K (number of bytes in DMT frame): 13 5
    R (number of check bytes in RS code word): 0 0
    S (RS code word size in DMT frame): 1 1
    D (interleaver depth): 1 1
    Delay (msec): 0 0

    Yet Telkom states 384 is the max :/

  11. #71
    Grandmaster Mineer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    /\/ŻŻŻŻŻ\/\
    Posts
    3,011

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sbworrall View Post
    Mode: G.DMT
    Type: Fast
    Line Coding: Trellis On
    Status: No Defect
    Link Power State: L0

    Downstream Upstream
    SNR Margin (dB): 30.3 16.0
    Attenuation (dB): 29.0 15.5
    Output Power (dBm): -1.1 4.4
    Attainable Rate (Kbps): 10944 872
    Rate (Kbps): 384 128
    K (number of bytes in DMT frame): 13 5
    R (number of check bytes in RS code word): 0 0
    S (RS code word size in DMT frame): 1 1
    D (interleaver depth): 1 1
    Delay (msec): 0 0

    Yet Telkom states 384 is the max :/
    your exchange maybe maxed at 384

  12. #72
    Derailment Squad ShaunSA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Sleepy Hollow
    Posts
    12,628

    Default

    Anyone care to interpret my lousy figures for a techno-idiot

    --- DSL Information ---
    DSL Driver Version: 3.4.4.10.0.1
    DSL VPI/VCI: 8/35
    DSL Status: Up
    DSL Mode: G.dmt
    DSL Channel: 0
    DSL Upstream Rate: 128 kbps
    DSL Downstream Rate: 384 kbps

    Down up
    DSL Noise Margin: 220 dB 282 dB
    DSL Attenuation: 250 dB 475 dB
    DSL Transmit Power: -901 dBm -901 dBm

  13. #73
    Super Grandmaster DrJohnZoidberg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Decapod 10
    Posts
    10,855

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ShaunSA View Post
    Anyone care to interpret my lousy figures for a techno-idiot

    --- DSL Information ---
    DSL Driver Version: 3.4.4.10.0.1
    DSL VPI/VCI: 8/35
    DSL Status: Up
    DSL Mode: G.dmt
    DSL Channel: 0
    DSL Upstream Rate: 128 kbps
    DSL Downstream Rate: 384 kbps

    Down up
    DSL Noise Margin: 220 dB 282 dB
    DSL Attenuation: 250 dB 475 dB
    DSL Transmit Power: -901 dBm -901 dBm
    Damn those are some of the weirdest figures I've every seen. I think Telkom must have replaced some of your copper with nylon string.
    Praise Zeus!

  14. #74

    Default

    My line used to perform brilliantly at 4mbps but over the past few years performance dropped off to the point where I eventually had to settle for 2mbps. Recently, telkom sorted out the line to some degree and these are my current stats:

    Upstream: 512 kbps
    Downstream: 2048 kbps
    SNR Margin (Upstream): 12.0 db
    SNR Margin (Downstream): 21.5 db
    Line Attenuation (Upstream): 21.5 db
    Line Attenuation (Downstream): 40.5 db

    I know they're busy with plans to improve things (there is currently a lot of foliage entangled on the line down the road and they need residents' permission to cut it) but I would like to phone the call center and get them to bump it back to 4mbit. Would this be doable or am I looking for trouble with my current line stats?

  15. #75

    Default Line Stats

    Quote Originally Posted by timvdwest View Post
    Damn those are some of the weirdest figures I've every seen. I think Telkom must have replaced some of your copper with nylon string.
    The funny thing I noticed is ShaunSA and I both appear to be using Linksys DSL routers, and both of us have weird stats. I suspect the stats on the Linksys are not completely accurate.

Page 5 of 43 FirstFirst 12345 678915 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •