Facebook   Twitter    YouTube    RSS Feed    Android App    iPhone and iPad App     BlackBerry App    
Subscribe to Newsletter



Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 23

Thread: 3x1GB or 2x2GB? - For i7

  1. #1
    Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    /\/¯¯¯¯¯\/\
    Posts
    4,510

    Default 3x1GB or 2x2GB? - For i7

    Which is better? Both will be CL8

  2. #2
    Grandmaster blaaislaai's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    01101000 01100101 01110010 01100101
    Posts
    4,214

    Default

    2x2GB

    More room to upgrade later on. and you will be able to run this in dual channel mode
    Gebore om te kuier, gedwing om te werk!

  3. #3

  4. #4
    Grandmaster Scooby_Doo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    In a Box, Next to a tree.
    Posts
    4,630

    Default

    doesn't i7 enjoy factors of 3 or is that ddr3 ram?
    =====
    If trees could scream would we be so cavalier about cutting them down. What if they screamed all the time for no reason?
    =====

  5. #5

    Default

    I think its the ddr3 running at 1800mhz? per channel.

  6. #6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Silverlight View Post
    Which is better? Both will be CL8
    3*2GB!

  7. #7
    Super Grandmaster killadoob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    South Africa.
    Posts
    46,585

    Default

    triple channel for sure.

  8. #8

    Default

    Just get 3x2GB and save yourself the trouble of upgrading ram for the next 3-5 years.

  9. #9
    Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    /\/¯¯¯¯¯\/\
    Posts
    4,510

    Default

    Lol, budget doesn't allow 3x2GB, only 2x2GB or 3x1GB

    So, 4GB in dual channel or 3GB in tri channel?

  10. #10

    Default

    2x2gb. The difference between dual and triple channel are basically unnoticeable.

  11. #11
    Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    /\/¯¯¯¯¯\/\
    Posts
    4,510

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SaiyanZ View Post
    Just get 3x2GB and save yourself the trouble of upgrading ram for the next 3-5 years.
    I always end up upgrading in 3 months or less

  12. #12
    Super Grandmaster killadoob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    South Africa.
    Posts
    46,585

    Default

    You upgrade your cpu mobo and ram every 3 months?

    Holy cow

  13. #13

    Default

    OCZ PC3-12800 DDR3 6GB Intel®i7 Edition Low-Voltage Triple Channel 3x2GB Kit - Profile 1: 1600MHz CL 8-8-8-24 1.65 Volts, Profile 2: 1800MHz 9-9-9-28 1.65 Volts

  14. #14

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Silverlight View Post
    Lol, budget doesn't allow 3x2GB, only 2x2GB or 3x1GB

    So, 4GB in dual channel or 3GB in tri channel?
    Then get the 2*2 (not 4*4) and upgrade again later!

  15. #15
    Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    /\/¯¯¯¯¯\/\
    Posts
    4,510

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by killadoob View Post
    You upgrade your cpu mobo and ram every 3 months?

    Holy cow
    Only in the past year...

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •