Facebook   Twitter    YouTube    RSS Feed    Android App    iPhone and iPad App     BlackBerry App    
Subscribe to Newsletter



Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 22

Thread: I heard rumour

  1. #1

    Default I heard rumour

    that if you wait till the last minute to register for RICA the network operators will actually advertise special promotions to get you to register.
    This true?
    No One Fights Alone

  2. #2
    Super Grandmaster noswal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Stranded, on Earth
    Posts
    6,028

    Default

    who said that?
    Shut up Slave! ... cheap cheddar and macaroni, melted together...

  3. #3
    Party Liaison Shake&Bake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    21,031
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    I think I heard an ad on the radio, that some or other retail store (clothing I think) is running some special at the moment if you RICA with them.

    I can't think of which company it was right now...
    Financial Advisor with Old Mutual.
    PM a Brother for Financial Wealth, Funeral and Life Cover.

  4. #4
    Ancient Astronaut waynegohl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Planet X
    Posts
    40,624

    Default

    what would the company get out of it then?

  5. #5

    Default

    Cell C currently has a competition on that encourages you to RICA.

  6. #6
    Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Doringkloof (Centurion)
    Posts
    2,942

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by waynegohl View Post
    what would the company get out of it then?
    they probaly get paid a fee by the operators for rica-ing the number

    remember a non rica'd number will be switched off so that means no income
    No Signature for the moment

  7. #7
    Ancient Astronaut waynegohl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Planet X
    Posts
    40,624

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by moklet View Post
    they probaly get paid a fee by the operators for rica-ing the number

    remember a non rica'd number will be switched off so that means no income
    hmmmm makes sense, i have yet to do mine.

  8. #8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by waynegohl View Post
    hmmmm makes sense, i have yet to do mine.
    Me neither, they will probably have to entend the deadline as many people I've spoke to have yet to RICA their number, either because of laziness or paranoia (OH NOES! THE ANC GONNA TAP MY PHONE!). I seriously doubt they will shut off that many phones as it will be bad for business or that at least explains incentives are being offered.

  9. #9
    Ancient Astronaut waynegohl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Planet X
    Posts
    40,624

    Default

    i think for me it's laziness.

  10. #10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by waynegohl View Post
    i think for me it's laziness.
    Yeah, for me too. I have nothing to hide

  11. #11
    Ancient Astronaut waynegohl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Planet X
    Posts
    40,624

    Default

    code word: ECHELON

  12. #12
    Grandmaster bex.cpt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    City of the GODS
    Posts
    1,848

    Default

    I have yet to RICA but my reason is I have no proof of residence. I have no lease agreement for the place I am "renting" more of a verbal contract. So how do I go about getting my number RICA without proof of residence?
    BB9300 MTN BIS
    MUST READ BLOG

  13. #13

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bex.cpt View Post
    I have yet to RICA but my reason is I have no proof of residence. I have no lease agreement for the place I am "renting" more of a verbal contract. So how do I go about getting my number RICA without proof of residence?
    Don't they accept shop accounts or credit card statements?

  14. #14
    Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    /\/ŻŻŻŻŻ\/\
    Posts
    4,530

    Default

    I RICA'd my vodascum sim 2 days ago and shortly afterwards i received an SMS saying R5 has been loaded into my account for registering

  15. #15
    Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    /\/ŻŻŻŻŻ\/\
    Posts
    4,530

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bex.cpt View Post
    I have yet to RICA but my reason is I have no proof of residence. I have no lease agreement for the place I am "renting" more of a verbal contract. So how do I go about getting my number RICA without proof of residence?
    An ordinary letter addressed to you will do (that's what i used)

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •