Facebook   Twitter    YouTube    RSS Feed    Android App    iPhone and iPad App     BlackBerry App    
Subscribe to Newsletter

Thread: ClearOS / CentOS ... is this the right way to go?

Super Grandmaster

Question ClearOS / CentOS ... is this the right way to go?

Hi friends,

In December I want to take some time to implement a proper office environment at my company. We are a small company with about 7-8 staff. The 'system' is completely wrong and since I joined the company I've never been given the freedom to rectify it.

I have very little to no working knowledge of linux seeing as I'm not in the I.T. field. I've just been made the "computer expert" at work since everyone else is grossly incompetent and it's easier for them to just ask me to do something than to learn to do it themselves. From speaking to mates of mine on here who are rather clued up I've been informed that a linux box is the way to go.

The current setup:

File Server: We have a shared drive on an XP machine acting as the File 'server' where all our company files we work on are stored. It falls over about twice a week.

Backups: Backups are poor. I pretty much copy the files across onto a portable drive once a month. I tried a windows based incremental option, but my boss couldn't decypher it so it was scrapped.

Email: We have 7 hosted email accounts with a local company. Each account pulls mail from the mail server off site instead of it coming in to a central point at our office. Ergo, even internal mail chows bandwidth because it's sent out then back in.

Antivirus: I have a 10-license Trend package installed on my pc, which acts as the host for the other pc's in the office. Hence my pc is slow as all hell.

Internet: We have a 384kb (dynamic IP address) uncapped adsl connection. The only form of content filtering is via the netgear ADSL modem/router, which I use to block all the usual sites, but there's no way of monitoring who uses how much or frequents which sites.

Desired Setup: