Facebook   Twitter    YouTube    RSS Feed    Android App    iPhone and iPad App     BlackBerry App    
Subscribe to Newsletter

Page 1 of 4 1 234 LastLast

Thread: DSD1110 fault. 8118 error

Default DSD1110 fault. 8118 error

On Saturday I experienced the dreaded 8118 error loop. My decoder wasn't always responding to the remote, especially on the sports channels, so I reset it. After the reset it show dl for a while, then 8118, and resets itself. Sits in that loop for ever. On the DSTV forums they claim it's a power supply error, and that's what they told me at the agent when I took it in as well.

I'm an engineer, and I'd rather guess that it's a software error that caused it. Possibly the firmware/software was corrupted somehow, and it is now in a state where it cannot download working firmware/software. I can't see how it can be the power supply. Can someone explain to me how it can be the power supply? Be as technical as you want.

I took the decoder to my local agent, and they said I have 3 options:
    - give it to them, and they send it in. I'll get another decoder back in 4 - 7 business days, with a 3 month guarantee (is this a joke?!) . It will cost R340, and I will be without the service I have already paid for for a week or more.
    - take it to Multichoice in N1 city (an hours drive), and exchange it there myself for a decoder with a 3 month guarantee. Cost R340
    - Buy a new decoder from Game for R499. 12 month guarantee.

I exercised a 4th option by cancelling my subscription.