Facebook   Twitter    YouTube    RSS Feed    Android App    iPhone and iPad App     BlackBerry App    
Subscribe to Newsletter

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: C# Help Needed

Question C# Help Needed

I am quite new with C#, i have decided to go from PHP to Software Development and has thus far been studying a whole lot of books and tutorials. But this code down here is giving me trouble, please note this is a very basic operation I'm trying to just understand how things work...

Any help would be appreciated.

The following Code does nothing, it does not INSERT a new row into the database. I get the SELECT procedure to work but not this? Any Ideas?

Thanks

Code:
    private void button1_Click(object sender, EventArgs e)
            {
                string FirstName;
                string LastName;
                string Country;

FirstName = Convert.ToString(textBox1.Text);
                LastName = Convert.ToString(textBox2.Text);
                Country = Convert.ToString(textBox3.Text);

//GREATE CONNECTION TO DATABASE
                SqlConnection myConnection = new SqlConnection("Data Source=.\\SQLExpress;AttachDbFilename=|DataDirectory|\\DataBaseAccessDb.mdf;Integrated Security=True;User Instance=True;");

SqlCommand myCommand = myConnection.CreateCommand();
                myCommand.CommandType = CommandType.Text;
                myCommand.CommandText = "INSERT INTO Users (FirstName, LastName, Country) VALUES (@FirstName, @LastName, @Country)";
                myCommand.Parameters.AddWithValue("@FirstName", FirstName);
                myCommand.Parameters.AddWithValue("@LastName", LastName);
                myCommand.Parameters.AddWithValue("@Country", Country);
                try
                {
                    myConnection.Open();
                    myCommand.ExecuteNonQuery();

}
                catch (Exception ex)
                {
                    richTextBox1.Text = "There was an Error: " + Convert.ToString(ex);