Facebook   Twitter    YouTube    RSS Feed    Android App    iPhone and iPad App     BlackBerry App    
Subscribe to Newsletter



Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: TP-Link MR3420 + 3765 Modem Wifi Issue

  1. #1

    Default TP-Link MR3420 + 3765 Modem Wifi Issue

    Was working fine with E178 (8ta black modem).
    Now flashed a 3765 and got the 8ta sim to connect but when setting it up in the 3G section of router settings, but it refuse to connect via wifi.

    Reset password / APN + dial number correct / saved and rebooted router a few times same problem.

    Other devices pick up wifi signal then after entering correct password it accepts but then no websites open. "page cannot be displayed" message.

    No firewall and anti virus allowing all traffic ( did this for test purpose)


    What am I doing wrong ?
    Plz help


    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2

  3. #3

    Default

    You say that you flashed the 3765, what did you flash it with, new Vodaphone K3765 firmwware or Huawei E1762 firmware ? I am assuming that you have the Huawei version of the K3765.

    Read this : http://mybroadband.co.za/vb/showthre...ighlight=K3765

    And which firmware have you got on the MR3420 ? The June 2011 firmware seems to be the best.

    What does the connection status screen on the MR3420 say about the modem connection ?
    Last edited by Jola; 08-09-2011 at 11:46 PM.
    On the internet you can be anything you want.

    It's strange that so many people choose to be stupid.

  4. #4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jola View Post
    You say that you flashed the 3765, what did you flash it with, new Vodaphone K3765 firmwware or Huawei E1762 firmware ? I am assuming that you have the Huawei version of the K3765.

    Read this : http://mybroadband.co.za/vb/showthre...ighlight=K3765

    And which firmware have you got on the MR3420 ? The June 2011 firmware seems to be the best.

    What does the connection status screen on the MR3420 say about the modem connection ?

    hi there

    i have the "Mobile Partner" software on the 3765 modem.
    HUAWEI
    V16.001.06.01.500

    Firmware on TP Link is the (mr3420v1_en_3_12_19_up (110617)

    I noticed it doesnt show and IP Address on the Status screen.
    It does show the green bar about signal strength. (70%)

    hope this helps with finding a solution.

    thanks

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Orbiting a distant star
    Posts
    477
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Does the MR3420 router identify the modem correctly?

    Status screen...

    3G USB Modem: ????

    just above the signal strength bar.

  6. #6

    Default

    Sorry for late reply.
    Only got a chance now to use router.

    Router identifies the modem correctly.
    Shows modem model number.

    Got 65% signal strength.

    I noticed below signal strength it shows ip / dns etc settings.

    Mine is all 0.0.0.0 - ip / dns etc.
    It just says "Connecting" below ip / dns.

    Seems its not picking up and ip etc info, but on iPhone it shows the Wifi network name, i select it and when I check the "ip address" info of wifi section of iPhone it shows an ip / snm / router and dns numbers all there, but still cannot connect to internet.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Orbiting a distant star
    Posts
    477
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    If you do not get an IP address displayed under the signal strength bar, then you are not connecting to the network, so will not be able to connect via WiFi.

    What is the indicator LED on the modem doing?
    Flashing/solid (colour)?

    Is the modem identified as K3765?
    Are you able to try the 3765 modem with its sim in a laptop or computer?

    I must admit, I am not quite sure what you have actually "flashed" here?
    Did you flash the e178 modem with 3765 firmware?
    Last edited by Base122; 13-09-2011 at 07:40 PM.

  8. #8

    Default

    1.Router is flashing green lights.
    2. Yes modem says "K3765" next to "3G USB Modem" setting.
    3.Yes I connect @ 4mbps when 3G modem is connected directly to laptop.
    Using the "Mobile Partner" software when connecting via laptop.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Orbiting a distant star
    Posts
    477
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    I have a Vodafone K3765 plugged into my MR3420 at the moment.

    Dial number: *99#
    APN: internet
    Username: blank
    Password: blank

    Connection mode: "connect automatically"
    Authentication type: Auto
    MTU size: 1480

    All working ok.

  10. #10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Base122 View Post
    I have a Vodafone K3765 plugged into my MR3420 at the moment.

    Dial number: *99#
    APN: internet
    Username: blank
    Password: blank

    Connection mode: "connect automatically"
    Authentication type: Auto
    MTU size: 1480

    All working ok.
    I just checked and got the exact same settings and still not working. Disabled anti virus just to check and still not working.

    By "Mobile ISP" which network u have ?
    I only have 2 to select from, 1.MTN and 2.Cell C. I selected either and use manual dial up: *99# and internet as apn and still nothing.

  11. #11

    Default

    Have you disabled the pin on the SIM ?
    On the internet you can be anything you want.

    It's strange that so many people choose to be stupid.

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Orbiting a distant star
    Posts
    477
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jola View Post
    Have you disabled the pin on the SIM ?
    Good question.

    Mine states,
    Message: PIN protection is disabled.

  13. #13

    Default

    Hmmm ! Do you have a Smith & Wesson .375 Magnum ?

    Load it, point it towards the router, and ...
    On the internet you can be anything you want.

    It's strange that so many people choose to be stupid.

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Orbiting a distant star
    Posts
    477
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jola View Post
    Load it, point it towards the router, and ...
    Sounds like JAM007 might just have....

  15. #15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Base122 View Post
    Sounds like JAM007 might just have....
    Sorry, I meant that you should gently tap the router on the righthand side !

    Did you have the router on the glass dining-room table ?
    On the internet you can be anything you want.

    It's strange that so many people choose to be stupid.

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •