Facebook   Twitter    YouTube    RSS Feed    Android App    iPhone and iPad App     BlackBerry App    
Subscribe to Newsletter

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: diy - broken grill

Grandmaster

Default diy - broken grill

so the grill in my kitchen oven has decided to cook it last its last meal.

so is it easy change grill element yourself? and where would i actually buy this replacement grill element

if this can't be done diy style - who do i call? an electrician?
    Me fail English? That's unpossible.

you have to know the 5 "D"s of dodgeball;..dodge;.duck..dip;..dive and dodge

you can generally find what you need here: http://www.macspares.co.za/stoves-mi...sort=1a&page=2

however are you sure it is the element? not a fuse etc?

Grandmaster

Quote Originally Posted by D3x! View Post
    however are you sure it is the element? not a fuse etc?
    i would have no idea...wouldn't even know where to look for the fuse -it's an under counter oven

make and model?

i am no expert but on the under counter ones fuses are generally at the back if i recall

SmoothOokerMaximus The_Librarian's Avatar
    Blog Entries

It's easy to replace.

1. First check that it's not the fuse (if you have one of those ovens with fuses).
    2. If it's the fuse, replace and check.
    3. If it's not the fuse, switch off at mains. Make sure it's off by turning on a [working] plate and feel if it's warming up. Alternatively [best method] = use a multimeter.
    4. Move stove away from wall to gain access to rear.
    5. Some ovens/stove have a cover screwed onto the rear. Unscrew it, you should see lots of electrical wiring.
    6. Locate the grill element and its cabling. Make note (masking tape) which cable goes where, and unplug/unscrew. A torch will be handy here.
    7. The element itself is fastened with two screws inside. Loosen these, and carefully remove the element.
    8. Take element to the spares shop, get replacement. Also take a note of the oven make and model with.