Facebook   Twitter    YouTube    RSS Feed    Android App    iPhone and iPad App     BlackBerry App    
Subscribe to Newsletter



Page 1 of 3 1 23 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 40

Thread: Windows 7 Professional 64 bit question

  1. #1
    Super Grandmaster techead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    by the mountain
    Posts
    9,020
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Windows 7 Professional 64 bit question

    Hi

    I'm really battling to find a well seeded torrent for this. Only one I found didn't have sp1 built in which I need.

    I have a legal cdkey

    Would I be able to download the ultimate version instead and use the professional key we got? It will just scale back on the features?

    If not, a good spot I can download this then?
    sigh

  2. #2

    Default

    Do a search for I think windows iso. Microsoft have a downloadable version off one of their sites. If you dont come right, will post a link in the morning

  3. #3
    Master of Messengers |tera|'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    terra
    Posts
    20,671

    Default

    No. You can't download Ultimate and use your Pro key, won't work. Unless you have an AIO ISO, (All in one).

    Why don't you just get the 7 Pro ISO and load SP1 afterwards if your searching skills are failing you?

    SP1 is like 600Mb or something and quite fast to install. The updates afterwards takes aeons in any case.

  4. #4
    Super Grandmaster techead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    by the mountain
    Posts
    9,020
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Thanks for the advice

    Gonna try find an AIO then

    Battling to find details professional even... Thought I had but it was actually home
    sigh

  5. #5
    Super Grandmaster techead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    by the mountain
    Posts
    9,020
    Blog Entries
    1
    sigh

  6. #6
    "The problem with quotes on the internet is that you can never be certain they are real"-Abraham Lincoln

  7. #7
    Super Grandmaster techead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    by the mountain
    Posts
    9,020
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    thanks for everyone for the PM's and help

    have a goodie
    sigh

  8. #8
    Master of Messengers |tera|'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    terra
    Posts
    20,671

    Default

    Yep. I would rather download from Tun@'s links.
    Soli Deo Gloria
    Jesus loves you as you are, not as you should be.

    |GeckoStretchTents|DomainCheap|FixedAssetManagement|

  9. #9
    Super Grandmaster Rickster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Johannesburg
    Posts
    5,205

    Default

    PM sent.
    Intel I5 2500K 1155 | 16GB DDR3 Corsair Dominator | EVGA GTX 460 1GB EE | 7.5TB | Corsair Graphite 600T
    Recall Zuma

  10. #10

  11. #11
    Super Grandmaster ponder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    KZN Dolphin Coast
    Posts
    44,762
    entia non sunt multiplicanda praeter necessitatem

  12. #12
    King of de Jungle Garyvdh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    District 9
    Posts
    72,800
    Blog Entries
    21

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ponder View Post
    This! ^^

  13. #13

  14. #14
    Super Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Here and there in the Western Cape
    Posts
    5,205
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    I have bought an ASUS laptop with came with Windows 8.1. Some programs require Windows 7 and will not work on Windows 8. The shop quotes R 2000 to install Windows 7 professional and no refund or allowance for Windows 8.

    Is this practice correct?
    Things won are done; joy's soul lies in the doing

  15. #15
    Master of Messengers |tera|'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    terra
    Posts
    20,671

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chrisc4290 View Post
    I have bought an ASUS laptop with came with Windows 8.1. Some programs require Windows 7 and will not work on Windows 8. The shop quotes R 2000 to install Windows 7 professional and no refund or allowance for Windows 8.

    Is this practice correct?
    Complete thread hijack by the way. I think a new thread would have sufficed.

    No. I hardly believe any program that works on Windows 7 would NOT work on Windows 8. Windows 8 is actually exactly built from 7, hence the core is the same and hence it would be compatible.

    Try installing the Software in Windows 7 Compatibility. Try Launching it in Windows 7 Compatibility and running it as Administrator as well if that fails as well.

    Make sure the Software is patched and up to date as well.

    The Shop looks like it's trying to make a quick buck.
    Soli Deo Gloria
    Jesus loves you as you are, not as you should be.

    |GeckoStretchTents|DomainCheap|FixedAssetManagement|

Page 1 of 3 1 23 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-11-2012, 12:55 PM
  2. Windows 7 and HD question
    By LeroyHarr in forum PC Hardware and Gadgets
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-05-2012, 05:43 AM
  3. Windows Update - Windows XP Professional
    By Zarathustra in forum Software
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 16-02-2010, 01:56 PM
  4. Another Windows 7 Question
    By Gixxa in forum PC Hardware and Gadgets
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 31-05-2009, 10:25 PM
  5. windows xp + windows vista dual boot question
    By nocilah in forum PC Hardware and Gadgets
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 19-08-2007, 12:48 AM

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •