Facebook   Twitter    YouTube    RSS Feed    Android App    iPhone and iPad App     BlackBerry App    
Subscribe to Newsletter



Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: SSD for Maximus II Formula LGA 775

  1. #1

    Default SSD for Maximus II Formula LGA 775

    Should I be worried about compatibility with SATA3 SSD's since my board is SATA2?

    Or can I just go ahead and get anything..
    ZTE Nubia Z5s Mini - CM11
    Q9400 @3.6 | 6GB Dominator | MIIF | GTX670 @1150/1700 | 120GB Vertex3 | LA32D550 | HX520

  2. #2
    Grandmaster Reaper84's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Port Elizabeth
    Posts
    2,586

    Default

    I am in the same boat witha 775 system. Go for it

    It will still be a massive speed boost and when you eventually upgrade you will get another free speed boost to sata 3 and ahci.

    Don't get a sata 2 version though go straight for a sata 3. Also look for a drive with good garbage collection such as the corsair performance pro drives. This will be better for older systems.

  3. #3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Reaper84 View Post
    I am in the same boat witha 775 system. Go for it

    It will still be a massive speed boost and when you eventually upgrade you will get another free speed boost to sata 3 and ahci.

    Don't get a sata 2 version though go straight for a sata 3. Also look for a drive with good garbage collection such as the corsair performance pro drives. This will be better for older systems.
    Awesome!

    Looking at either the:

    ADATA S510 Series - SATA III 2.5 Inch Solid State Drive - 120GB - R1880 - Takealot

    or

    OCZ 120GB Vertex 3 Series SATA III 2.5" SSD - R1849 - Wootware
    ZTE Nubia Z5s Mini - CM11
    Q9400 @3.6 | 6GB Dominator | MIIF | GTX670 @1150/1700 | 120GB Vertex3 | LA32D550 | HX520

  4. #4
    Super Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Snorries
    Posts
    10,319

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dudewotevr View Post
    Awesome!

    Looking at either the:

    ADATA S510 Series - SATA III 2.5 Inch Solid State Drive - 120GB - R1880 - Takealot

    or

    OCZ 120GB Vertex 3 Series SATA III 2.5" SSD - R1849 - Wootware
    The Vertex3 is good, as it's Synchronous (much faster than Async for data that you can't compress).
    Rather look at the Adata S511 than the 510 as it's Synchronous instead of Async.
    Quote Originally Posted by Rickster View Post
    Why is everyone going ape **** over this car, it looks like junk and the performance must be too.
    Quote Originally Posted by KSINGH View Post
    Oh no you didn't

  5. #5
    Grandmaster Reaper84's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Port Elizabeth
    Posts
    2,586

    Default

    I would go with the vertex 3 but make sure you update the thing before you do anything.

    Does your mobo support AHCI? Can't see it on the website.

    The OCZ drives apparently have good trim support and garbage collection

  6. #6

    Default

    The OCZ Agility 3 is what I would recommend. The OCZ Agility 3, OCZ Vertex 3, AData S511 and S510 are all Sandforce 2 series SSDs and super fast.

    I can't notice a difference between them, you would need a benchmark to tell the difference.

    SATA3 devices are fully backward compatible with SATA-I & SATA-II. The only side effect is it will not be able to perform up to it's max (500mb/s) and instead will hit a wall once it hits +- 250-300mb/s (SATA-2) or +-100-150MB/s (SATA-I).

  7. #7
    Grandmaster Reaper84's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Port Elizabeth
    Posts
    2,586

    Default

    I would also maybe wait until next week as Esquire is going to be bringing in a different brand of drive. Maybe Samsung and those SSD's are one of the best

  8. #8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Reaper84 View Post
    Maybe Samsung and those SSDs (corrected for you) are some of the best
    Based on what? It is super expensive, definitely not worth the price IMHO.
    Last edited by Gnome; 24-02-2012 at 12:35 PM.

  9. #9

    Default

    Thanks guys, ok Vertex 3 it is.

    Oh gawrsh, quick google search indicates it MIGHT, ..I don't even know what that entails or even means :/

    Do I have to install OS before I update firmware?

    Hmm, ..Buying from Esquire seems like a mission, I prefer to have things shipped to my door

    "Asus knows that many gamers prefer Windows XP, and puts its floppy header near the top to ease cable routing in typical tower designs. The floppy is still needed by most people for adding AHCI or RAID drivers during Windows installation."

    - Ahh, I don't have a stiffy/floppy drive..
    Last edited by dudewotevr; 24-02-2012 at 12:36 PM.
    ZTE Nubia Z5s Mini - CM11
    Q9400 @3.6 | 6GB Dominator | MIIF | GTX670 @1150/1700 | 120GB Vertex3 | LA32D550 | HX520

  10. #10

    Default

    I would seriously consider the OCZ Agility 3 if I were you. It is much cheaper with almost exactly the same performance.

  11. #11

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Gnome View Post
    I would seriously consider the OCZ Agility 3 if I were you. It is much cheaper with almost exactly the same performance.
    Cool will check out the price, savings always appreciated!
    ZTE Nubia Z5s Mini - CM11
    Q9400 @3.6 | 6GB Dominator | MIIF | GTX670 @1150/1700 | 120GB Vertex3 | LA32D550 | HX520

  12. #12
    Grandmaster Reaper84's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Port Elizabeth
    Posts
    2,586

    Default

    Thanks for the grammer check

    The vertex 3 will be way faster using compressed data and is very close to the agility 3. You must update it before you do anything.

    I think you can connect it to your pc as another drive, then update the firmware, then install as a boot drive

  13. #13
    Super Grandmaster dualmeister's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Grape Town
    Posts
    5,694

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Reaper84 View Post
    Does your mobo support AHCI? Can't see it on the website.
    It uses the ICH10R chipset which definitely supports AHCI.

  14. #14
    Grandmaster Reaper84's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Port Elizabeth
    Posts
    2,586

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dualmeister View Post
    It uses the ICH10R chipset which definitely supports AHCI.

    Then you are in luck go for that SSD now

  15. #15

    Default

    Thanks everyone..
    ZTE Nubia Z5s Mini - CM11
    Q9400 @3.6 | 6GB Dominator | MIIF | GTX670 @1150/1700 | 120GB Vertex3 | LA32D550 | HX520

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •