Facebook   Twitter    YouTube    RSS Feed    Android App    iPhone and iPad App     BlackBerry App    
Subscribe to Newsletter



Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Sub Domains with different nameservers

  1. #1

    Default Sub Domains with different nameservers

    How can you configure a sub domain to an independent namesever allowing it to function like an independent domain?

  2. #2
    Super Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    8,819

    Default

    Delegate.

    Code:
    subdomain   IN NS  other.example.com
    other   IN A   111.222.333.444

  3. #3

    Default

    simpler explanation? is there a way using whm or cpanel?

  4. #4
    Super Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    8,819

    Default

    What did you not understand?

  5. #5

  6. #6
    Super Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    8,819

    Default

    You add a type NS record for yor sub domain, pointing to the server you want to delegate to. It doesn't get any simpler.

  7. #7

    Default

    Ok, think i got it. thanks alot. I am new to this, just experimenting. appreciate your help

  8. #8
    Super Grandmaster Tinuva's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    5,236

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by koffiejunkie View Post
    You add a type NS record for yor sub domain, pointing to the server you want to delegate to. It doesn't get any simpler.
    +1
    Few people can see the genius in someone who has offended them.
    - Robertson Davies

  9. #9

    Default

    ok got that for primary ns. the site is working. How do i add the secondary name server? Just create another NS record ?

  10. #10
    Super Grandmaster Tinuva's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    5,236

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ruyav View Post
    ok got that for primary ns. the site is working. How do i add the secondary name server? Just create another NS record ?
    Yes.
    Few people can see the genius in someone who has offended them.
    - Robertson Davies

  11. #11
    Super Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    8,819

    Default

    As I showed in my original reply, create an NS record for the subdomain, pointing to the external DNS server.

  12. #12
    Super Grandmaster cavedog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Richards Bay
    Posts
    5,294

    Default

    You need your domain with DNS access. Free 1 is http://freedns.afraid.org/

    Then you can just create sub domains like that. works quite well if your domain host does not offer DNS with the domain like za.net or co.za
    Free VPN for the masses FrootVPN

  13. #13

    Default

    other.example.com should be a name server

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •