Facebook   Twitter    YouTube    RSS Feed    Android App    iPhone and iPad App     BlackBerry App    
Subscribe to Newsletter



Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19

Thread: Two SIMs, same number

  1. #1

    Default Two SIMs, same number

    Is there a way of having two SIMs with the same number (not necessarily simultaneously)? For example, if you need to use a micro-SIM in an iPhone and a normal SIM in another device, and you swap between the devices frequently.

  2. #2
    Resident DJ DJ...'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Joziburg. Home Of Broadband Sloth Racing...
    Posts
    64,833
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default

    I've been wanting this for ages now, so that I have a spare in another phone should it become necessary. Last time I asked the Vodacom employee just stared at me like I'd just chopped off his mother's tail...
    Internet the way it was meant to be. Launch details will become Crystal Clear very soon...

  3. #3
    Banned Haldex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    City of Gold
    Posts
    4,987

    Default

    Yip

    I have one in my BB a second sim in my iPhone, calls are routed to whichever handset is on.

  4. #4

    Default

    Thanks guys...

  5. #5
    Resident DJ DJ...'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Joziburg. Home Of Broadband Sloth Racing...
    Posts
    64,833
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Haldex View Post
    Yip

    I have one in my BB a second sim in my iPhone, calls are routed to whichever handset is on.
    Really? How did you arrange this? I tried in a Vodacom store and they told me it was impossible. That was about 2 years ago. Last year when I checked again they had no clue what I was talking about - they tried to do a sim-swap.

    What if they're both on?
    Internet the way it was meant to be. Launch details will become Crystal Clear very soon...

  6. #6
    Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Stellenbosch, Republic of the Western Cape
    Posts
    2,308

    Default

    It's possible now, one of my colleague has two phones (diff sim) with the same number, on vodacom
    --
    ADSL Line: 10Mbps via Afrihost 100Mb Capped

    Keep Calm And Engage Low Range

  7. #7
    Banned Haldex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    City of Gold
    Posts
    4,987

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DJ... View Post
    Really? How did you arrange this? I tried in a Vodacom store and they told me it was impossible. That was about 2 years ago. Last year when I checked again they had no clue what I was talking about - they tried to do a sim-swap.

    What if they're both on?
    Ive had both on, but never received a call so not sure what would happen.
    Its billed as a twin sim or twin call.
    Its a free service, no monthly fees just pay for the sim and the activation.

    Its quite cool, to check my BBMs I switch the iPhone to flight mode, switch the BB on, let everything load, when im done, switch the BB off, then flight mode off.
    The only thing to worry about is the twin sim has its own number when dialing out, but receives calls on your main number, tricky when sending an SMS and you get a reply like "who are you" lol

  8. #8
    Resident DJ DJ...'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Joziburg. Home Of Broadband Sloth Racing...
    Posts
    64,833
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default

    Finally, we can receive phone calls in stereo...
    Internet the way it was meant to be. Launch details will become Crystal Clear very soon...

  9. #9

    Default

    it's called a Dual-Sim, i arrange this for my company all the time, just ask your provider, they should be able to do it

  10. #10
    Active Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Cape Town , South Africa
    Posts
    97

    Default Twin Sim OR Data Sim

    Hi all

    you can do this one of two ways:

    1. Twin Sim - this allocates a "ghost number" to the second sim, so if your dialing from that sim, it will show up on caller line identity as a different number. If a person dials either your primary sim or the second sim (ghost number) the sim that was switched on last will ring... Generally not advisable to have both sim's on at the same time as it can interfer with some service (sms delivery / voicemail etc).

    2. Data Sim - this add another sim to your account which is then used expressly for data, ideal if you want to use for example a Blackberry only for email and another phone for calls (or an Phone / Tablet combo)

    But in essence you dont get "two sim's, same number" for just voice calls.

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    In your head
    Posts
    368

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Claymore View Post
    Is there a way of having two SIMs with the same number (not necessarily simultaneously)? For example, if you need to use a micro-SIM in an iPhone and a normal SIM in another device, and you swap between the devices frequently.
    My micro sim works fine in my bb. Just line up the gold bits. I swap when i need to.

  12. #12
    Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Durban - KZN
    Posts
    1,261

    Default

    Its called dual sim... I know MTN and Cellc does it, One is primary, when somebody calls you and the primary sim is on, it will ring first for a few times then the second sim will ring. both same number.

    http://www.mtn.co.za/MTNSERVICES/CAL.../DualCall.aspx

  13. #13
    Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Durban - KZN
    Posts
    1,261

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MOwrt View Post
    My micro sim works fine in my bb. Just line up the gold bits. I swap when i need to.
    Don't you just love the time a BB takes to start up...?

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    In your head
    Posts
    368

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Keegan View Post
    Don't you just love the time a BB takes to start up...?
    I usually try and fill that time with something. Like pulling my finger nails out

  15. #15
    Resident DJ DJ...'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Joziburg. Home Of Broadband Sloth Racing...
    Posts
    64,833
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default

    This is great to know. Thanks guys...
    Internet the way it was meant to be. Launch details will become Crystal Clear very soon...

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •