Facebook   Twitter    YouTube    RSS Feed    Android App    iPhone and iPad App     BlackBerry App    
Subscribe to Newsletter



Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Telkom can't fix area exchange in a week

  1. #1

    Default Telkom can't fix area exchange in a week

    I struggle to believe this even as I write this. I recently upgraded to an ADSL line with Telkom as service provider - primarily for reliability. Worked well for a few months.

    I have now been without a internet connection for a week. Called the call centre 3 times (this takes 20 min every time off course) and they confirmed that the exchange close to me is off and that the entire area is affected.

    A week?? Impact on businesses?? If I do not get an acceptable response from someone who can actually do something I will be doing the following:
    1. Start using MWEB as a service provider. I do realize I will still be renting the Telkom line (as I do not have other options), but at least I will be taking business away from Telkom.
    2. The moment I can get Neotel or any other reliable alternative, Telkom will never see me as a customer again.

    Oh - and if they have the audacity to charge me for this month I walk as well. I should be sendign them an invoice for my time. Sent from my 3G connection .....

  2. #2

    Default

    One week? Wow you're optimistic - Douglasdale 011-704xxxx/011-462xxxx has been have issues for almost 2 months now and all they can say is they are planning to upgrade the exchange as it is oversubscribed.

  3. #3
    Grandmaster agentrfr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Sandton, Gauteng
    Posts
    3,012

    Default

    Telkom is replacing all of the DSLAMs in the country with MSANs. I am one of the lucky few on the Douglasdale 011-462-xxxx racks that have been moved to an MSAN, and it works quite nicely.

    Hang in there buddy, I know it is painful but tech growth and improvement is exponential. You'll soon be in the green
    I-Rah los Pruzah ahrk Mul
    IMA CHEMICAL ENGINEER WEO
    Agents are people too.
    Just because I'm technically bloody and imperialist doesn't prove anything!

  4. #4

    Default

    Did you ask them what caused the outage?
    ELO: Here is the news...

  5. #5

    Default

    Apparently an exchange that is down. Best of all - they had the fault as corrected and had to reopen (although no-one ever contacted me) :-(.

  6. #6

    Default

    .... so it is a number of people that are impacted.

  7. #7
    Super Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Pretoria East, Erasmuskloof
    Posts
    5,410

    Default

    I've been down for month than a month in the past, and for th last 4 months I can't get more than 40kb download speed on my 4mb line. Telkom just does nothing.
    Everyone's first vi session. ^C^C^X^X^X^XquitqQ!qdammit[esc]qwertyuiopasdfghjkl;:xwhat

  8. #8

    Default

    My exchange was down for only 2 days, wasn't so bad here in Witbank

Similar Threads

  1. List of Telkom exchange area codes (sorted)
    By kilos in forum ADSL Discussions
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 04-08-2014, 10:55 PM
  2. Link - Parkview exchange area
    By mybb.bot in forum ADSL Discussions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-02-2011, 07:50 AM
  3. Installing a Telkom ADSL Exchange in my area
    By Looney in forum ADSL Discussions
    Replies: 34
    Last Post: 22-11-2009, 10:02 PM
  4. Exchange down in durbanville area (Capetown)
    By Clipse in forum ADSL Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 30-06-2005, 01:04 PM
  5. No ADSL in 011-325 exchange area!!
    By samsat in forum ADSL Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 31-01-2005, 05:31 PM

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •