Facebook   Twitter    YouTube    RSS Feed    Android App    iPhone and iPad App     BlackBerry App    
Subscribe to Newsletter



Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Advice needed on Cellvine (Vodacom) repeater

  1. #1
    Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    NWP near Rustenburg
    Posts
    1,250

    Default Advice needed on Cellvine (Vodacom) repeater

    Vodacom kindly installed one of their Cellvine repeaters (boosters) because I live in a very poor signal area.

    I recently had to move it, and suddenly began to doubt whether I had the cables in the right sockets! Can someone please confirm that the socket marked BASE takes the input from the external antenna on my roof, and the socket marked MOBILE takes the cable going to the supplied square transmitter unit which rebroadcasts the (boosted) signal? Thanks!

    Also, does anyone know of an easily available DC to DC converter which would allow me to run the unit directly off my 12-volt system? The supplied power brick converts 220v to the required 7.5v at max. 5 Amps. I'm currently having to run it through an inverter from my solar-power system, which makes it a very power-hungry beast indeed, so ideally I need to run it directly off my 12v battery bank.
    Last edited by Terencek; 06-06-2012 at 09:08 AM. Reason: correction

  2. #2
    Super Grandmaster ginggs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Good-w00t! Cape Town
    Posts
    8,991

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Terencek View Post
    Also, does anyone know of an easily available DC to DC converter which would allow me to run the unit directly off my 12-volt system? The supplied power brick converts 220v to the required 7.5v at max. 5 Amps. I'm currently having to run it through an inverter from my solar-power system, which makes it a very power-hungry beast indeed, so ideally I need to run it directly off my 12v battery bank.
    Try these guys:
    http://www.mantech.co.za/

  3. #3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Terencek View Post
    Can someone please confirm that the socket marked BASE takes the input from the external antenna on my roof, and the socket marked MOBILE takes the cable going to the supplied square transmitter unit which rebroadcasts the (boosted) signal? Thanks!
    Correct. However, I am afraid you need to contact Vodacom and request to re-install device in your new place. If you do it by yourself, it can oscilate and cause havoc for the tower. Think about cancer risk as well when transmitters are running wild at full power.
    Besides repeater and antenna is not your property, it still belongs to Vodacom.

  4. #4
    Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    NWP near Rustenburg
    Posts
    1,250

    Default

    Hey, a bit heavy-duty dude! I moved it 20 centimetres to the left in the cupboard where it was installed! For which I had to disconnect the two antenna cables and then couldn't remember which went where..... So lock me up already :-)

  5. #5
    Grandmaster mister's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    durban north
    Posts
    2,348

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sajunky View Post
    Correct. However, I am afraid you need to contact Vodacom and request to re-install device in your new place. If you do it by yourself, it can oscilate and cause havoc for the tower. Think about cancer risk as well when transmitters are running wild at full power.
    Besides repeater and antenna is not your property, it still belongs to Vodacom.
    Think about cancer risk as well when transmitters are running wild at full power <- LMAO. Our mobile operators are already running wild.

  6. #6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Terencek View Post
    Hey, a bit heavy-duty dude! I moved it 20 centimetres to the left in the cupboard where it was installed! For which I had to disconnect the two antenna cables and then couldn't remember which went where..... So lock me up already :-)
    Well, you are immune, sure.
    Just make sure to not change position of the both atennas, this is critical.

Similar Threads

  1. Vodacom Booster/repeater
    By Dolby in forum Vodacom Broadband and Mobile Internet | LTE, HSPA+, HSDPA, 3G, EDGE, GPRS and BIS
    Replies: 30
    Last Post: 09-09-2014, 10:54 AM
  2. Taking over a family member's vodacom contract [ADVICE NEEDED]
    By Zandberg in forum Cellular: Mobile Phones, Call Contracts, Content, MMS and SMS
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 25-04-2012, 12:20 PM
  3. What's involved in getting a Vodacom repeater?
    By Terencek in forum Vodacom Broadband and Mobile Internet | LTE, HSPA+, HSDPA, 3G, EDGE, GPRS and BIS
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 28-02-2011, 08:25 AM
  4. Advice needed : Setting up wifi repeater 11km
    By rbarryza in forum Wi-Fi and WISP
    Replies: 42
    Last Post: 27-11-2009, 02:48 PM
  5. Repeater Suggestions Needed
    By Curtix2 in forum Wi-Fi and WISP
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 29-07-2009, 06:34 PM

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •