Facebook   Twitter    YouTube    RSS Feed    Android App    iPhone and iPad App     BlackBerry App    
Subscribe to Newsletter



Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Eastern Cape Fibre plans?????

  1. #1

    Default Eastern Cape Fibre plans?????

    http://www.itnewsafrica.com/2012/05/...nfrastructure/
    Is it for true East London getting Fibre to home?I cant believe it?

  2. #2

    Default

    Ummmm. sorry to disappoint you but this does not mean FTTH.
    ELO: Here is the news...

  3. #3

    Default

    Why do I get the feeling that it is businesses and government departments that this is being set up for?

  4. #4
    Super Grandmaster evilstebunny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    It's my world, you're just living in it.
    Posts
    9,313

    Default

    Obviously, ordinary people are all refugee'd out.

  5. #5
    Super Grandmaster Rocket-Boy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    East London
    Posts
    5,726

    Default

    DFA has been doing this all over the place in SA, they actually came to EL for a change too!
    Its an open access network that will allow 3rd parties to provide services across it and will have possibilities for fibre to workplaces and homes depending on pricing.
    You can already get Neotel fibre in some places in EL but this should cover a wider area. There are still lots of open trenches all over the place where they are laying the trunking and then fibre will be blown a bit later.
    A computer programmer is someone who, when told to "Go to Hell", sees
    the "Go to", rather than the destination, as harmful."

  6. #6

    Default

    Is this the "short jokes" thread?

    You are the product of 4 billion years of evolution. Start acting like it.

  7. #7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Rocket-Boy View Post
    DFA has been doing this all over the place in SA, they actually came to EL for a change too!
    Its an open access network that will allow 3rd parties to provide services across it and will have possibilities for fibre to workplaces and homes depending on pricing.
    You can already get Neotel fibre in some places in EL but this should cover a wider area. There are still lots of open trenches all over the place where they are laying the trunking and then fibre will be blown a bit later.
    I would like to be optimistic about this....

    I have these trenches [some of them have been covered up already] in Oxford Street, Frere Road, near Hudson Park, and Nahoon so far, but nothing in Selborne, which is why I was wondering whether only selected areas will be getting fibre. Unless some wireless wizardy is planned[?]

    A Neotel representative has already spoken to our comms guy about fibre for our new offices. [We're moving at the end of the year.]
    Last edited by Andaeriel; 19-06-2012 at 03:22 PM.

  8. #8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Andaeriel View Post
    A Neotel representative has already spoken to our comms guy about fibre for our new offices. [We're moving at the end of the year.]
    Make sure you have a backup broadband solution - do not put all your eggs in the Neotel basket,
    this will hurt you - been on Neotel since September and we have had so many 20 fault reports
    where with Telkom ADSL - one failure in 2 years, down for 3hrs -DSLAM card failure.

    Neotel speeds are great, but when it fails, failover provider is important, one time we were down for 2 days.

  9. #9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Andaeriel View Post
    I would like to be optimistic about this....

    I have these trenches [some of them have been covered up already] in Oxford Street, Frere Road, near Hudson Park, and Nahoon so far, but nothing in Selborne, which is why I was wondering whether only selected areas will be getting fibre. Unless some wireless wizardy is planned[?]

    A Neotel representative has already spoken to our comms guy about fibre for our new offices. [We're moving at the end of the year.]
    Telkom's exchange is in Frere Road (Cambridge). There is also a fibre to a 'box' next to Selborne College.... amongst others.
    ELO: Here is the news...

  10. #10

    Default

    Yup. I connect to one of those near Balfour Park, so not too far from me.

    Pity I don't live next door to my alma mater.....

  11. #11

    Default

    Nothing remotely in Gonubie yet
    Never test the depth of the water with both feet ...

  12. #12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dan C View Post
    Nothing remotely in Gonubie yet
    Says who?
    ELO: Here is the news...

  13. #13

    Default

    Fortunately, I am not the one who has to make that decision.

  14. #14
    Super Grandmaster Hemps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Slummies
    Posts
    5,639

    Default

    Nothing remotely in Gonubie yet
    I have seen them digging trenches and cable laying about on Gonubie main road?

  15. #15

    Default

    DFA Pricing
    Metro Rental Rates, per meter
    Includes monitoring and maintenance Service Level Agreement (SLA) and Permanent Repairs
    The unit rate = price per fibre pair for the applicable lease period x line of sight or straight distance
    between two sites x routing factor of 1.4

    Fibre Pairs 1 Pair
    1 Year R 16.40/m
    2 Year R 9.11/m
    3 Year R 6.75/m
    4 Year R 5.63/m
    5 Year R 5.00/m
    10 Year R 3.75/m
    15 Year R 3.01/m

    Example: 1 pair fiber = 5000m x 1.4 (routing factor) x R5.00/m (5 year period) = R35k/month

    Excludes Connection fee, Fiber transmission equipment on either end and trenching
    Last edited by kilos; 22-06-2012 at 12:55 AM.

Similar Threads

  1. Dark Fibre Africa invests R72-million in Eastern Cape
    By rpm in forum Broadband and IT News
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 29-05-2012, 10:40 PM
  2. Dark Fibre Africa talks about its fibre network growth plans
    By jes in forum Broadband and IT News
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 30-03-2012, 11:39 PM
  3. *Error 619* Affecting Cape Town and Eastern Cape Region
    By VodacomData in forum Vodacom Broadband and Mobile Internet | LTE, HSPA+, HSDPA, 3G, EDGE, GPRS and BIS
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 16-07-2009, 02:04 PM
  4. Neotel and the Eastern Cape
    By Andaeriel in forum Neotel NeoConnect, NeoFlex and NeoBroadband
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-05-2008, 07:55 AM
  5. Is there ADSL in the Eastern Cape ?
    By SpottyGekko in forum ADSL Discussions
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 02-02-2007, 04:10 PM

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •