You should join our great online community now - you can win great prizes
Register now
You should subscribe to our free MyBroadband newsletter


+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 23 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 39

Thread: XBMC TheTVDB scraper not working...

  1. #1
    Banned DJ...'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Gauteng
    Posts
    70,309
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default XBMC TheTVDB scraper not working...

    Anyone else not able to connect to TheTVDB with the scraper? I've tried on openelec-Eden, Mac-Frodo, Windows-Frodo to no avail.

    I searched their forum but can't find an answer. I searched the XBMC forum but they always tell you to go to the TVDB forum instead...

  2. #2
    Fudzy
    Guest

    Default

    Had the same issue when re-adding all the items on my replaced NAS the other day. Haven't bothered to look into it any further, I hardly use the library for the TV stuff, only the movies. What did the TVDB forums say? I didn't even know they had forums.

  3. #3
    Banned DJ...'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Gauteng
    Posts
    70,309
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default

    I pretty much only use it for TV. I rarely watch movies these days.

    TVDB forum - couldn't find anything for it, but their forum is a mess...

  4. #4
    Super Grandmaster gregmcc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    19,487

    Default

    Seems the tvdb are having more and more problems these days. I don't think they can handle the load.

  5. #5
    Fudzy
    Guest

    Default

    It is! Have you tried one of the other scrapers? http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title...craper_add-ons

  6. #6
    Banned DJ...'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Gauteng
    Posts
    70,309
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Fudzy View Post
    It is! Have you tried one of the other scrapers? http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title...craper_add-ons
    Mostly Anime. Never watched anything anime related before and not going to...

    The others rely on TVDB to some extent, are missing major functionality, or are in another language...

  7. #7
    Banned DJ...'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Gauteng
    Posts
    70,309
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gregmcc View Post
    Seems the tvdb are having more and more problems these days. I don't think they can handle the load.
    They apparently changed hosting providers. Clearly this new one sucks but they do get it for free iirc...

  8. #8
    Super Grandmaster
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Pretoria, South Africa
    Posts
    7,886

    Default

    I also had a problem. It didn't update the library when I added new episodes. But yesterday I saw the issue resolved.
    Listen to RadioActive Rock, SA's REAL Rock Station. Tune in at rarock.com.

  9. #9
    Banned DJ...'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Gauteng
    Posts
    70,309
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BLIXEMPIE View Post
    I also had a problem. It didn't update the library when I added new episodes. But yesterday I saw the issue resolved.
    It worked temporarily yesterday but it was broken again last night. Still broken now by the looks of things...

  10. #10

    Default

    Yes down for me too

  11. #11
    Banned DJ...'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Gauteng
    Posts
    70,309
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default

    Yip, still broken, but nothing to be found on the XBMC nor TVDB sites.

    Yes, I'm waiting for someone else to report it...

  12. #12
    Banned DJ...'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Gauteng
    Posts
    70,309
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default

    Interestingly enough, it looks like the TV Show - Next Aired plugin is working, and I believe their data comes from TVDB too. So it appears to be the scraper that's broken and not TVDB. I can browse their site fine, after all...

  13. #13

    Default

    Found the issue - Seems to be connectivity related

    My Primary Account is MWEB and a tracert to thetvdb.com failed so switched to my FNB secondary account for testing, tracert completes and thetvdb.com scraping working again.

  14. #14
    Banned DJ...'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Gauteng
    Posts
    70,309
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default

    Mine doesn't appear to be connectivity related. I can get to the site just fine.

    My limited exposure to this sort of thing tells me that it is a problem with the plugin or the API...

  15. #15

    Default

    Ditto rqleslie

    Switched to my FNB account and it works like a charm.

    Now the question is: What did MWEB do?

    Sending MWEBGuy a PM now...

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 23 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. XBMC vs Plex
    By iceman23 in forum TV Services, including DStv, Video on Demand, Video Streaming
    Replies: 186
    Last Post: 18-01-2015, 08:11 AM
  2. Help with XBMC
    By Ecco in forum TV Services, including DStv, Video on Demand, Video Streaming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 13-01-2013, 12:19 PM
  3. SA/Zim TV on XBMC
    By sdocker in forum TV Services, including DStv, Video on Demand, Video Streaming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 20-09-2012, 10:18 PM
  4. Plasma vs LCD for XBMC
    By broloks in forum TV Services, including DStv, Video on Demand, Video Streaming
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 26-03-2012, 10:00 PM
  5. Offline XBMC scraper?
    By Lament in forum TV Services, including DStv, Video on Demand, Video Streaming
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 01-04-2011, 01:36 PM

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •