Facebook   Twitter    YouTube    RSS Feed    Android App    iPhone and iPad App     BlackBerry App    
Subscribe to Newsletter



Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 16

Thread: MAD D-Link DSL-2640U

  1. #1

    Angry MAD D-Link DSL-2640U

    I have this D-link router:
    DSL-2640U
    H/W Ver: C2
    F/W Ver: ME_2.01
    P/N: ISL2640UEBME3C2E
    S/N: PJ1219C031494

    I need a firmware for that wireless\4 port router, It isn't work as it should..

    too much errors in connections with ISP, It isn't work properly..

    It is not hardware problem, I checked it out.

    I hope someone help me to solve this problem and send that firmware.

    and thanks in advance..
    Last edited by N@der; 01-05-2013 at 04:55 AM.

  2. #2
    Grandmaster Tander's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    Posts
    1,856

    Default

    Hi N@der,

    There is no need to use bold, colored, over sized font. We can all read and see our screens just fine.

    A quick Google with the term: "DSL-2640U firmware", points you in the right direction.

    http://www.dlink.co.in/products/?pid=353

    On there, it shows a F/W updated last year. However, it also notes it's only for products in India and will void warranty if used outside of that country.

    So, contact D-link South Africa: www.d-link.co.za

    This took me less than 30 seconds to find, using Google.

    Remember: Google is your Internet's best friend....

  3. #3

    Default

    Firstly, thanks a lot for replying.

    and about bold, colored, over sized font, I am sorry, just I like colors and decorated texts.. sorry again.

    and about the router, the warranty is not important because it is old and no warranty for it at least in my country,

    and about Google, believe me I asked him a lot but no answer, I did not find that firmware, but I though that I can get help with it here,

    So, Is that Indian firmware in English or what, and how could I get it?

    and thanks again for your interesting..

  4. #4

    Default

    aha I found it with Indian site, sorry,

    but the question here, is it in english?!!

  5. #5
    Grandmaster Tander's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    Posts
    1,856

    Default

    Hi N@der,

    No problem about the text - I was just saying.

    I'm not sure if it is in English.

    What you can do is backup the firmware / settings of your current router setup and take note how to get to that menu. Then, load that Indian version on and if it is not in English - just reload your backup and return the router to it's original firmware / settings.

    I say take note as to where the backup / restore is due to that if the new firmware is not English - the menu structure will be the same.

  6. #6

    Default

    OK, an idea hit me about taking a firmware backup, but I did not know how to do that, I took a setting backup, but firmware!!

    actually I did not think that there is a way to backup firmware
    Last edited by N@der; 01-05-2013 at 06:34 AM.

  7. #7

    Default

    how to backup a firmware, I did not find any option to do that in all router's menus..

    could you tell me how to do that?

  8. #8
    Grandmaster MDE's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    CPT, Claremont
    Posts
    1,150

    Default

    The South African download page is ftp://ftp.d-link.co.za

  9. #9

    Default

    thanks a lot, But I need to know how could I backup the old firmware before upgrading?!!

  10. #10
    Grandmaster Tander's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    Posts
    1,856

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by N@der View Post
    thanks a lot, But I need to know how could I backup the old firmware before upgrading?!!
    I looked at your user manual - seems like this is not possible on your router. Sorry about that.

    It is safe to use the F/W from the SA FTP link provided, as it will all be in English.

  11. #11

    Default

    Which SA link because ftp://ftp.d-link.co.za did not open if you mean that ftp link by calling it SA, or you mean the firmware in Indian site..!

  12. #12

    Default

    Horrible grammar....
    Intel I5 2500K 1155 | 16GB DDR3 Corsair Dominator | EVGA GTX 460 1GB EE | 7.5TB | Corsair Graphite 600T
    Recall Zuma

  13. #13

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Rickster View Post
    Horrible grammar....
    hehe

  14. #14

    Default

    ok i tried ftp://ftp.d-link.co.za from another PC and it opened successively but I did not find my dsl router but I found a 16 G.B Resident Evil Game reloaded ISO file, this is strange..!

    to finish that issue, I will update that unlucky router with Indian firmware..!

  15. #15

    Default

    OK, It is dead now..
    I uploaded the firmware but it did not upload and I faced an error says upload fatal error and after that the router died, it is not responding and LAN adapter Acquiring network address without any progress then it gave me limted..

    and reset to default not responding at all..!

    I manually wrote the IP but nothing at all new, the router did not open it's page and status led is dead, not blinking.

    so what happened? is it damaged or what?!!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. D-Link DSL-2640U: Classifieds
    By mybb.bot in forum Classifieds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 28-04-2012, 11:40 PM
  2. D-Link DSL-2640U: Classifieds
    By mybb.bot in forum Classifieds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 28-04-2012, 11:30 AM
  3. Need Help with D-Link DSL-2640U
    By snail112 in forum ADSL Discussions
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-11-2010, 06:46 PM
  4. D-LINK DSL-2640U
    By Mike Smit in forum Networking and Security
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 19-03-2010, 07:00 PM
  5. D-link DSL-2640U
    By Prof. in forum ADSL Discussions
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 17-01-2010, 11:34 AM

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •