Facebook   Twitter    YouTube    RSS Feed    Android App    iPhone and iPad App     BlackBerry App    
Subscribe to Newsletter

Thread: IPCOP and 3G

Default IPCOP and 3G

Help anyone?

I'm trying to setup IPCOP as my firewall, with an HSDPA card as the red interface and a LAN connection to a wireless access point distributing IP to client machines as the green interface. The easy part was getting DHCP to assign IP addresses to the client machines - that's working fine. The hard part seems to be the 3G dial out bit. I'm a Linux newbie, so I know jack about it -- please be kind with the flames :-), but I'd like to know if anyone has done this and how it was done.

If not, I'll try to trailblaze, but it'll not be pretty - like trying to drive an F1 car without a basic driver's licence...

???

SmoothOokerMaximus The_Librarian's Avatar
    Blog Entries

If your router supports PPPoE then it's easy - just setup IPCop for PPPoE on RED and set the router in bridged mode - it should work the same as a stock ADSL router in bridged mode.

If you have an PCMCIA (or laptop) card, then no luck.

Also, keep tabs on your bandwidth usage - out of cap is dreadfully expensive!

Do let us know what happens.

Regards

Libs
    Christ-mass is NOT for Christians. Jeremiah 10.
    Is the 10 Commandments for Christians?

Saturday is the Seventh day, Sunday is the first day.

Hi Libs

It's not a router, just a Wireless Access Point with a ethernet input. I wanted to set up IPCOP with the 3G card in the PCMCIA slot to dial out and establish comms with Vodacom & the internet. If it can't do this, it is quite bad luck - but I'll ask the IPCOP dev team to develop this functionality, cos IPCOP is cool and perfect for my needs. Otherwise I'll try and use Linux SuSe in server mode and run another firewall solution. I'm just not sure that the SuSE firewall will do all IPCOP can do, i.e. port forwarding, shaping, proxy etc etc. I was kindof hoping it would do the trick for me.......