Facebook   Twitter    YouTube    RSS Feed    Android App    iPhone and iPad App     BlackBerry App    
Subscribe to Newsletter



Page 1 of 9 1 2345 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 135

Thread: Huawei E620 data card & USSD commands

  1. #1
    Super Grandmaster ginggs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Good-w00t! Cape Town
    Posts
    8,944

    Default Huawei E620 data card & USSD commands

    I've been trying to get USSD commands to work on the Huawei E620 card without success. I have now established that they work perfectly with a Virgin Mobile or a Vodacom SIM card, for some reason they don't work with my MTN SIM. Is there any way that USSD commands can be blocked on my SIM card? Is there anything I can do to get them working?

  2. #2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ginggs View Post
    I've been trying to get USSD commands to work on the Huawei E620 card without success. I have now established that they work perfectly with a Virgin Mobile or a Vodacom SIM card, for some reason they don't work with my MTN SIM. Is there any way that USSD commands can be blocked on my SIM card? Is there anything I can do to get them working?
    Good day,

    Ginggs

    I sent you something let me know if that's what you were looking for

    MTNDD

  3. #3
    Super Grandmaster ginggs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Good-w00t! Cape Town
    Posts
    8,944

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MTN_Data_Dude View Post
    I sent you something let me know if that's what you were looking for
    Thanks, I also found a page on MTN's site that describes many of the USSD commands:
    http://www.mtn.co.za/default.aspx?pid=242246

    I have no problem using them on my phone, its just on the data card I get no response. I know the format in which I am sending the commands is correct as they work with Virgin and Vodacom SIM cards. I just want to know if MTN are blocking them or if I need to activate something in order to get them to work?

  4. #4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ginggs View Post
    Thanks, I also found a page on MTN's site that describes many of the USSD commands:
    http://www.mtn.co.za/default.aspx?pid=242246

    I have no problem using them on my phone, its just on the data card I get no response. I know the format in which I am sending the commands is correct as they work with Virgin and Vodacom SIM cards. I just want to know if MTN are blocking them or if I need to activate something in order to get them to work?
    Will speak to Jeremy my device manager and will advise ASAP

    MTNDD

  5. #5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ginggs View Post
    I've been trying to get USSD commands to work on the Huawei E620 card without success. I have now established that they work perfectly with a Virgin Mobile or a Vodacom SIM card, for some reason they don't work with my MTN SIM. Is there any way that USSD commands can be blocked on my SIM card? Is there anything I can do to get them working?
    I have a Virgin Mobile 128k Sim card in my MTN E620 card.

    I tried the following command via the Hyperterminal program:

    AT+CUSD=1,"*101#",15

    The only response that I do get is the "OK" message.

    How did you manage to get it working?


  6. #6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by zaphod View Post
    I have a Virgin Mobile 128k Sim card in my MTN E620 card.

    I tried the following command via the Hyperterminal program:

    AT+CUSD=1,"*101#",15

    The only response that I do get is the "OK" message.

    How did you manage to get it working?

    Yeah,

    Please let me know as well

    MTNDD

  7. #7
    Super Grandmaster ginggs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Good-w00t! Cape Town
    Posts
    8,944

    Default

    The following are all captures from Hyper terminal.

    With 32K Vodacom SIM:
    Code:
    AT+COPS?
    +COPS: 0,2,"65501",0
    
    OK
    AT+CUSD=1,"*100#",15
    OK
    
    +CUSD: 0,"Your account is 3.01",0
    With 128K Virgin Mobile SIM:
    Code:
    AT+COPS?
    +COPS: 0,2,"65507",0
    
    OK
    AT+CUSD=1,"*101#",15
    OK
    
    +CUSD: 0,"Air Time left R 25.73. Please enter *122# and press call to check on your V Rewards.",15
    The AT+COPS? command gets your operator code, 65501 is Vodacom SA and 65507 is Cell-C SA (used by Virgin Mobile).
    It does take a few seconds after the OK is received before the +CUSD response comes from the network.
    Last edited by ginggs; 21-09-2007 at 08:43 AM.

  8. #8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ginggs View Post
    The following are all captures from Hyper terminal.

    With Vodacom SIM:
    Code:
    AT+COPS?
    +COPS: 0,2,"65501",0
    
    OK
    AT+CUSD=1,"*100#",15
    OK
    
    +CUSD: 0,"Your account is 3.01",0
    With Virgin Mobile SIM:
    Code:
    AT+COPS?
    +COPS: 0,2,"65507",0
    
    OK
    AT+CUSD=1,"*101#",15
    OK
    
    +CUSD: 0,"Air Time left R 25.73. Please enter *122# and press call to check on your V Rewards.",15
    The AT+COPS? command gets your operator code, 66501 is Vodacom SA, 65507 is Cell-C SA (used by Virgin Mobile).


  9. #9

    Unhappy Still not working for me

    Hi gings,

    AT+COPS? is working for me but not the AT+CUSD=1,*101#",15 command. (Using the 128k VM SIM)

    (The reply message is just the OK prompt).

    Maybe the problem is with my firmware version.

    My card's version numbers are as follow:

    Firmware version: 11.16.08.01.00
    Hardware version: CD21TCPU Ver. B



  10. #10
    Super Grandmaster ginggs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Good-w00t! Cape Town
    Posts
    8,944

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MTN_Data_Dude View Post
    What are those shades hiding? Did you just go and flick the switch?

    I do not believe this:
    Code:
    AT+COPS?
    +COPS: 0,2,"65510",0
    
    OK
    AT+CUSD=1,"*123#",15
    OK
    
    +CUSD: 1,"MTN Menu :
    (Menu browsing is free)
    1-Phone Setup
    2-MTNLoaded
    3-Mzines
    4-Get the 411
    5-Ringtones
    6-Greeting Cards
    0-Help
    
    ",0
    
    AT+CUSD=1,"0",15                
    OK  
    
    +CUSD: 1,"-Help-                
    This menu enables you to set up your phone for MMS, WAP, etc. You can download JamCam images and other content. Menu sessions are max 120 sec.                                                              
    
    9-Back",0         
    
    AT+CUSD=1,"9",15                
    OK  
    
    +CUSD: 1,"MTN Menu :
    (Menu browsing is free)
    1-Phone Setup
    2-MTNLoaded
    3-Mzines
    4-Get the 411
    5-Ringtones
    6-Greeting Cards
    0-Help
    
    ",0
    
    AT+CUSD=2
    OK
    
    AT+CUSD=1,"*123*888#",15                        
    OK  
    
    +CUSD: 0,"Yello! Your MSISDN is 2783*******",0
    MSISDN number changed to protect the innocent.

  11. #11

    Default

    How do you do this with the Hauwei data card?



    Quote Originally Posted by ginggs View Post
    What are those shades hiding? Did you just go and flick the switch?

    I do not believe this:
    Code:
    AT+COPS?
    +COPS: 0,2,"65510",0
    
    OK
    AT+CUSD=1,"*123#",15
    OK
    
    +CUSD: 1,"MTN Menu :
    (Menu browsing is free)
    1-Phone Setup
    2-MTNLoaded
    3-Mzines
    4-Get the 411
    5-Ringtones
    6-Greeting Cards
    0-Help
    
    ",0
    
    AT+CUSD=1,"0",15                
    OK  
    
    +CUSD: 1,"-Help-                
    This menu enables you to set up your phone for MMS, WAP, etc. You can download JamCam images and other content. Menu sessions are max 120 sec.                                                              
    
    9-Back",0         
    
    AT+CUSD=1,"9",15                
    OK  
    
    +CUSD: 1,"MTN Menu :
    (Menu browsing is free)
    1-Phone Setup
    2-MTNLoaded
    3-Mzines
    4-Get the 411
    5-Ringtones
    6-Greeting Cards
    0-Help
    
    ",0
    
    AT+CUSD=2
    OK
    
    AT+CUSD=1,"*123*888#",15                        
    OK  
    
    +CUSD: 0,"Yello! Your MSISDN is 2783*******",0
    MSISDN number changed to protect the innocent.

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    From PTA -> CT -> PTA
    Posts
    309

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ginggs View Post
    I've been trying to get USSD commands to work on the Huawei E620 card without success. I have now established that they work perfectly with a Virgin Mobile or a Vodacom SIM card, for some reason they don't work with my MTN SIM. Is there any way that USSD commands can be blocked on my SIM card? Is there anything I can do to get them working?

    could you please tell me where abd how much you jot the data card from?
    ===========================================
    I thought i had a signature here, the system must have crashed before i could save. LOL

  13. #13
    Super Grandmaster ginggs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Good-w00t! Cape Town
    Posts
    8,944

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by victorlebza View Post
    could you please tell me where abd how much you jot the data card from?
    I got my data card at the end of May for R238 after signing a two year contract for a MyChoice 75 package @ R75 per month from an MTN franchise store.

  14. #14
    Super Grandmaster ginggs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Good-w00t! Cape Town
    Posts
    8,944

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Uli View Post
    How do you do this with the Hauwei data card?
    If you're using Windows, HyperTerminal.

    Start / All Programs / Accessories / Communications / HyperTerminal.

  15. #15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ginggs View Post
    If you're using Windows, HyperTerminal.

    Start / All Programs / Accessories / Communications / HyperTerminal.

    @Ginggs

    I believe we're almost there in terms with getting this to work with the MTN software?

    MTNDD

Page 1 of 9 1 2345 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •