Facebook   Twitter    YouTube    RSS Feed    Android App    iPhone and iPad App     BlackBerry App    
Subscribe to Newsletter



Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Help me find what is causing this

  1. #1
    Super Grandmaster Zewp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Back seat of a Monza
    Posts
    8,947

    Default Help me find what is causing this

    Yesterday I ran an .exe that was cleared by my antivirus and immediately after the exe installed adware on my PC, hijacked my browser, added random bookmarks to it and changed the homepage to some ****ty search provider. I removed most of the adware successfully, but it seems something remained and I'm having trouble tracking it down to remove it.

    What happens is sometimes when I'm busy browsing I'll get random timeouts saying "Oops! Google Chrome could not find mybroadband.co.za." In the address bar the following url pops up, https://static.dreamsadnetwork.com/e...a/vb/forum.php.

    I've tried searching for what this static.dreamsadnetwork is, but I can't find anything. I don't know if whatever the hell it is is maybe blocking certain google search results from showing up, because google searches on the subject takes a lot longer than normal. I've got no idea what this is doing or why it's doing it. Anyone perhaps know where I would go to look for what this is or how to remove it?
    Join the Cult of Sithraak!
    He'll torture you endlessly, whether you were good or not.
    Convert to Sithraak today- the god who hates you unconditionally.

  2. #2
    Grandmaster buyeye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Darkside of the moon
    Posts
    3,578

    Default

    Sounds like you are infected. Try get a better antivirus and hope that it can pick up the infection otherwise you may need to format.
    Last edited by buyeye; 01-11-2013 at 01:00 PM.
    I and the voice inside my head, which is actually my conscience, both agree that Jehovas partenalistic rulership is better than Satans liberal anarchy.

  3. #3
    Master krono9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Durbanville, Cape Town
    Posts
    776

    Default

    in chrome make sure you have nothing funny under: chrome://extensions/

  4. #4

  5. #5

    Default

    Reformat and reinstall, and dont run dodge exe's!

  6. #6
    Super Grandmaster noswal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Stranded, on Earth
    Posts
    5,730

    Default

    There were problems loading pages in this forum last night which may be part of the problem you had.
    Shut up Slave! ... cheap cheddar and macaroni, melted together...

  7. #7
    Super Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Previously this post ->
    Posts
    29,973

    Default

    LOL, didn't your momma ever teach you not to run dodgy exes? What AV are you running?
    Every time you make a typo, the errorists win

  8. #8

    Default

    If you're relatively experienced [Start]-> [Run] -> "MsConfig" -> [OK]

    look for strange startups and services. disable them.

    If you don't know what something is, google it. but diabling the wrong thing here might break things.

  9. #9

    Default

    No need to reinstall. God this is not the 80's

    First off, get ESET NOD trial. They are good. The AV is great and it uses the least resources that I have seen. Proceed to run a full system scan once installed and updated, link here http://www.eset.co.za/za/
    Second. Krono9 +1 on check your extensions in chrome, also go through the list of search engines added to your browser. Delete the **** you dont want and keep google.
    Third. Delete all files in your internet cache, use the windows cleaner to remove all temporary files.
    Fourth , get an adblocker for your porn sites and popups and **** wont bother you. And you can FAP freely.
    Lastly, read up on masterbation here: https://www.facebook.com/lonaldchilds?filter=2

    Ignore the burn for now. Other than that you will be fine.

  10. #10
    Resident DJ DJ...'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Joziburg. Home Of Broadband Sloth Racing...
    Posts
    64,992
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default

    Zewp, check out my thread here - http://mybroadband.co.za/vb/showthre...ware-infection

    I eventually had to format and reinstall. There's just no way to know that all remnants of it are gone...
    Internet the way it was meant to be. Launch details will become Crystal Clear very soon...

  11. #11
    Super Grandmaster Zewp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Back seat of a Monza
    Posts
    8,947

    Default

    Thanks for all the suggestions. I ran Spyware Search and Destroy and it picked up 5 items. I've also downloaded Malwarebytes because it seems to come highly recommended. It's still scanning but it has so far picked up 5 items in the Windows folder alone.

    Quote Originally Posted by Fudzy View Post
    LOL, didn't your momma ever teach you not to run dodgy exes? What AV are you running?
    I'm currently running Norton Antivirus which came on a 60 day subscription with my laptop. I formatted the laptop about a month ago and the subscription reset so I just stuck with it. I'm definitely going to look at ESET, which FFF4skin suggested. I'm not going to trust Norton again after this.

    Quote Originally Posted by DJ... View Post
    Zewp, check out my thread here - http://mybroadband.co.za/vb/showthre...ware-infection

    I eventually had to format and reinstall. There's just no way to know that all remnants of it are gone...
    Yeah, that's what worries me. I do my online banking and other financial transactions on this laptop, so I'm scared to risk something getting left behind. I can't format right now, though, because I've got a lot of data that I have nowhere to backup until I get my new external HDD.

    Formatting is usually my go-to solution for viruses though. It's simply the easiest way to ensure you get rid of an infection.
    Join the Cult of Sithraak!
    He'll torture you endlessly, whether you were good or not.
    Convert to Sithraak today- the god who hates you unconditionally.

  12. #12
    Resident DJ DJ...'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Joziburg. Home Of Broadband Sloth Racing...
    Posts
    64,992
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default

    If you do banking on that machine then it's not worth the risk...
    Internet the way it was meant to be. Launch details will become Crystal Clear very soon...

  13. #13

    Default

    I just removed all extensions from Google chrome browser and problem is solved
    good luck

  14. #14

    Default

    A windows 'System Restore' will probably fix it. That's to say if you have a suitable restore point.

Similar Threads

  1. NZB causing disconnects.
    By daveza in forum DSTV, TopTV, SABC, TV services, Movies and Multimedia
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 24-01-2013, 09:56 PM
  2. PC issue, not sure what's causing it or why.
    By Zewp in forum PC Hardware and Gadgets
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 06-11-2011, 09:06 PM
  3. What on earth is causing this?
    By techead in forum DSTV, TopTV, SABC, TV services, Movies and Multimedia
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 28-06-2011, 05:15 PM
  4. Help - What is causing this
    By ravetoad in forum ADSL Discussions
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 04-03-2007, 09:26 AM
  5. Causing a scene can be fun!
    By Debbie in forum CPA, Telecoms Regulation and Consumerism
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 12-05-2005, 08:50 AM

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •