Facebook   Twitter    YouTube    RSS Feed    Android App    iPhone and iPad App     BlackBerry App    
Subscribe to Newsletter



Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Opera Mini for Computer?

  1. #1
    SmoothOokerMaximus The_Librarian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Gormenghast
    Posts
    88,270
    Blog Entries
    19

    Default Opera Mini for Computer?

    Opera Mini for cellphone works just great. However, the gripe is the small keyboard which is a pain and hassle to work.

    Also the small screen.

    It is suitable for quick and dirty postings on the TiKLand thread

    Anyhoo... is there something like Opera Mini for the PC out? So that you can browse on your PC whilst minimizing your bandwidth usage, especially when using 3G/GPRS out-of-bundle data transmissions?

    Regards

    His Ookishness
    Christ-mass is NOT for Christians. Jeremiah 10.
    Is the 10 Commandments for Christians?

    Saturday is the Seventh day, Sunday is the first day.

  2. #2
    Super Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Pretoria, South Africa
    Posts
    12,498
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default

    Well you can emulate Opera Mini on your PC using mpowerplayer...

  3. #3
    Super Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Plettenberg Bay
    Posts
    3,281

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by The_Librarian View Post
    Opera Mini for cellphone works just great. However, the gripe is the small keyboard which is a pain and hassle to work.

    Also the small screen.

    It is suitable for quick and dirty postings on the TiKLand thread

    Anyhoo... is there something like Opera Mini for the PC out? So that you can browse on your PC whilst minimizing your bandwidth usage, especially when using 3G/GPRS out-of-bundle data transmissions?

    Regards

    His Ookishness
    well you can just use Opera and say it musn't load images, or just load cached images
    insomnia FTW!

  4. #4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by feo View Post
    Well you can emulate Opera Mini on your PC using mpowerplayer...
    I have tried it, is does not work !!!!

  5. #5
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Censorville
    Posts
    6,594

    Default

    Check out the Opera Mini forums, I seem to remember this as a topic there. It involved installing the Java thingymebob to your PC. I gave up when I saw how big it was and became confused by the instructions.
    It would be a good idea because OM downsizes pictures & everything so you still see the websites more or less as they were intended. Useful if you're on Vodacom

  6. #6
    Super Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Lonehill
    Posts
    16,835

    Default

    Well if you want to save bandwidth there's always www.loband.org

  7. #7

    Default

    Why dont you just disable images in your browser? i.e. install Opera 9, and then disable images?
    Got a problem with your PC? Here's the Solution. Put it on the counter, go to the garage, fetch a 10 pound hammer...

  8. #8
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Censorville
    Posts
    6,594

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DAE_JA_VOO View Post
    Why dont you just disable images in your browser? i.e. install Opera 9, and then disable images?
    Obviously then you won't see any pictures or graphics. With OM you see the graphics, but they are mini sized. It will also load faster.

  9. #9
    Super Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Previously this post ->
    Posts
    30,056

    Default

    Is the data throughput of a Opera Mini generated webpage really that smaller than a normal website?

  10. #10
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Censorville
    Posts
    6,594

    Default

    Yes because the data comes to you via a proxy server in Finland (or is it Denmark). The work is done at their end to reduce the pictures, graphics and the fonts. It really is smaller.

  11. #11
    Super Grandmaster
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Plettenberg Bay
    Posts
    3,281

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Skeptik View Post
    Obviously then you won't see any pictures or graphics. With OM you see the graphics, but they are mini sized. It will also load faster.
    Just let it load the site once and say it must only use cached images from there on
    insomnia FTW!

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •