100Mbps + Routers/FW's and or finless platforms for pfSense

georgelza

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2004
Messages
932
hi hi all.

Got a friend thats stuck with a 100Mbps router, supplied by ISP... he now wants to upgrade to a 200-300Mbps and they basically said his problem to get a faster router... would have thought they should take their Free to use unit back and supplied him with a 100Mbps+ router, but alas not....

So, what 100Mbps+ routers are everyone using these days.

or who has access to decent prices finless server for pfSense, 8GB RAM 64-128GB M.2 SSD. at least 2 NIC ports (Intel Preferred)

G
 

georgelza

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2004
Messages
932
thinking... if anyone know of some older HPE Microservers, would be perfect.

G
 

killerbyte

Expert Member
Joined
May 10, 2007
Messages
2,745

The mikrotik hEX will handle your friend's requirements.
 

georgelza

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2004
Messages
932
not knowing the MikroTik range, how easy are they vs pfSense, would be configuring VPN, either static IP on Fiber of mWeb provides otherwise DynDNS update... probably also back to CloudFlare for remote access to a Home Assistant stack (no not going to use LetsEncrypt and include DynDNS)

G
 

georgelza

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2004
Messages
932
... just realised I got a Unifi USG lying around, could offer that to friend.
G
 

rh1

Expert Member
Joined
Aug 5, 2011
Messages
4,767
... just realised I got a Unifi USG lying around, could offer that to friend.
G
Just ask the same thing:

 

georgelza

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2004
Messages
932
Just ask the same thing:

thanks... went to keep it simply for myself, as I will probably be supporting him. so either a shrink wrapped solution thats easy to use or a pfSense that I know.
we will be doing a couple of things his side mirroring my side so if he has the same setup as me makes easier for me... instead of a new/second config/how to...
G
 

Muttley

Expert Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2016
Messages
1,496
USG will work, you'll need to turn off IDS and IPS if I recall correctly, otherwise it's limited to 85Mbps
 

georgelza

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2004
Messages
932
How did is it to configure remote access / VPN on the USG?

Does anyone know if MWEB offers static up on Metrofiber?

G
 

RonSwanson

Honorary Master
Joined
May 21, 2018
Messages
10,858
hi hi all.

Got a friend thats stuck with a 100Mbps router, supplied by ISP... he now wants to upgrade to a 200-300Mbps and they basically said his problem to get a faster router... would have thought they should take their Free to use unit back and supplied him with a 100Mbps+ router, but alas not....

So, what 100Mbps+ routers are everyone using these days.

or who has access to decent prices finless server for pfSense, 8GB RAM 64-128GB M.2 SSD. at least 2 NIC ports (Intel Preferred)

G
CME


I have this one's older brother with a N2940 CPU:
 
Top