2 ONT's faulty in one day? Whats going on Axxess and Openserve????

Lifeofagambler

I signed up for fibre with Axxess and Openserve this the beginning of October and had my installation done and activated a couple of days later, being a total noob to fibre i was impressed since i've always heard horror stories 20+ days wait times.

About a week later, the dreaded load shedding is back and after a power outage on Friday night i wake up to a green blinking PON light and no connectivity. Logged a call with axxess and i was shocked to find that all 3 times i called, my call was answered by the same consultant only for the consultant to tell me that there is no supervisor around so they cannot access my account to check whats going on, at this point i go on a huge rant and about how bad their service is and that i should not be experiencing such problems after only slightly less than 2 weeks with their service, they proceed to give me an openserve ref number and 20 minutes later i get a call from a friendly openserve tech who says he'll be there within 30 minutes. When he arrived he tested my line and found that the ont was damaged by a power surge but the router was fine so he replaced the ONT and i was back online... A few hours later... Loadshedding again and i dediced to rather be safe than sorry and disconnected the ONT and router from the power and lo behold an hour after the power came back on i plugged everything back and i have the PON light blinking green again .

Is it really possible that 2 ONTs could be ruined in one day? And if they are so sensitive to power outages, why isnt openserve supplying a UPS with their installation? Im now waiting for another openserve tech who will hopefully dig deeper into the root cause of this issue beyond replacing the ONT and calling it a day

netcruiser