2004 Opel Corsa Lite oil leak

JP227

Hi there guys, I hope someone can help me. I've been having an oil leak in my corsa, but have no idea what it might be. All the oil runs onto the gearbox and then pools up at lower places. Its purple in colour. Asking because I am a student and can't really afford to take it to a workshop if it might be something I could just fix myself. Many thanks in advance!

carstensdj

Expert Member
Roughly how often are you having to top up oil and how many pints? Also, is the car smoking at all?

thechamp

Honorary Master
It's the transmission fluid, maybe a leaking seal on one of the driveshaft. I have the same problem on mine which arose after taking the car in for a clutch job where the transmission oil was topped up. I have no idea if it was over filled or if itbis leaking at the sump gasket (transmission sump). I have not gotten around to fixing it since it does no longer drips so I have no idea if it was leaking from a breather if it has one.

You'll need to lift the car up and wash the undercarriage then take it from there.

ArtyLoop

Executive Member
It's purple in colour, definitely not engine oil.
Power steering fluid?
EDIT: ja, when I had my Corsa B many years ago, the power steering fluid was Burgundy in colour.
That car is notorious for power steering leaks. I had to overhaul mine at least once.

thechamp

Honorary Master
Power steering fluid?
EDIT: ja, when I had my Corsa B many years ago, the power steering fluid was Burgundy in colour.
That car is notorious for power steering leaks. I had to overhaul mine at least once.
Yes that too, on mine both the gearbox oil and the power steering fluid are purple/pinkish. If it is at the bottom I think it is probably leaking on the gasket in the gearbox sump.

JP227

Roughly how often are you having to top up oil and how many pints? Also, is the car smoking at all?