200mb Fibre for 8 people

Vanilla_Falcon

New Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2019
Messages
4
Hi guys and gals,

I want some insight on this. We live on a small holding, theres 3 houses with a total of 8 people. I am getting a 200mbps Premium Uncapped fibre line installed and then splitting it to all the houses. I would say 6 of the people are heavy internet users (Games, Downloads, Streaming and so on). Will this line be enough?
 

AdrianH

Expert Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2005
Messages
1,958
Hi guys and gals,

I want some insight on this. We live on a small holding, theres 3 houses with a total of 8 people. I am getting a 200mbps Premium Uncapped fibre line installed and then splitting it to all the houses. I would say 6 of the people are heavy internet users (Games, Downloads, Streaming and so on). Will this line be enough?
100Mb will be ample for 8 people, mind about 200Mb. Buy a router with decent QOS so that you can give priority to streaming etc
 

WAslayer

Expert Member
Joined
May 13, 2011
Messages
3,373
Stop stressing about whether it's enough.. split the line according to how much each household contributes towards payment of the connection.. if this is too slow for any given household, they can take out their own connection..

If all three households split the bill equal, that's 66.6666mbps for each..

Then let each household worry about QoS themselves..
 

DanDango

Executive Member
Joined
Sep 4, 2013
Messages
8,439
Hi guys and gals,

I want some insight on this. We live on a small holding, theres 3 houses with a total of 8 people. I am getting a 200mbps Premium Uncapped fibre line installed and then splitting it to all the houses. I would say 6 of the people are heavy internet users (Games, Downloads, Streaming and so on). Will this line be enough?
Run a pfsense server to balance the user load.
 

ThatOtherDude

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2018
Messages
234
I do bandwidth management on my run of the mill Tenda router, 100mbps FD fibre.., split x ways. Neighbor gets X, tv gets X, laptops get x, the wife gets 1Mbps (just kidding) and I get the rest.
 

cantankerous

Active Member
Joined
Oct 23, 2018
Messages
40
200 Mbps between two of us. Peak will see both of us streaming HD and browsing devices. UniFi Controller is telling me we've averaged 10 Mbps max over the past two weeks. You'll be fine with 200 Mbps.
 

ld13

Honorary Master
Joined
Oct 28, 2005
Messages
11,280
Just do not tell the ISP you are doing this - it is against all of the T&Cs I have had my hands on so far. But to answer your question, as already mentioned, it will never be enough. Some form of QOS will be a must, to avoid 1 user pulling the line down with 1 torrent opening 30+ connections.

Netflix e.g. claims to take up to 25mbps with some tests leaning more towards 15mbps. That comes to 15mbps*6 streamers = 90mbps if all of them stream at the same time, thus not leaving much for the rest of the folk. Assuming of course that you do not experience congestion and can sustain a 90mbps stream on your line.
 

Marcell1992

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2018
Messages
275
Just do not tell the ISP you are doing this - it is against all of the T&Cs I have had my hands on so far. But to answer your question, as already mentioned, it will never be enough. Some form of QOS will be a must, to avoid 1 user pulling the line down with 1 torrent opening 30+ connections.

Netflix e.g. claims to take up to 25mbps with some tests leaning more towards 15mbps. That comes to 15mbps*6 streamers = 90mbps if all of them stream at the same time, thus not leaving much for the rest of the folk. Assuming of course that you do not experience congestion and can sustain a 90mbps stream on your line.
Netflix does not need 15-25mbps. I'm watching 1080p fine with my 10mb line that is actually maximum 8mbps
 

ThatOtherDude

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 10, 2018
Messages
234
I have Netflix UHD but I can't seem to find a single UHD movie/series when I browse...

maybe I'm just a bit "dom".

It would probably help if I actually use the damn service (only the family does)

-
 

$m@Rt@$$

Expert Member
Joined
Jul 6, 2009
Messages
1,628
I have Netflix UHD but I can't seem to find a single UHD movie/series when I browse...

maybe I'm just a bit "dom".

It would probably help if I actually use the damn service (only the family does)

-
You need a UHD capable device for it to show available in UHD. There are loads of UHD content on Netflix.
 

Tariqe

Active Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2016
Messages
55
Different question, I have a Hisense 65U8A streaming on a 50 mbps line connected via an ethernet cable, the tv can display the speed being used, it is never more than 15.25 mbps at 2160, even though Fast.com will show 47 plus mbps, just curious as to via the tv wont register higher than 15.25
 

BradleyKZN

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2009
Messages
918
Different question, I have a Hisense 65U8A streaming on a 50 mbps line connected via an ethernet cable, the tv can display the speed being used, it is never more than 15.25 mbps at 2160, even though Fast.com will show 47 plus mbps, just curious as to via the tv wont register higher than 15.25
Is this while running Netlflix or something? Your streaming might only require that much so it wont show higher?
 

ld13

Honorary Master
Joined
Oct 28, 2005
Messages
11,280
Different question, I have a Hisense 65U8A streaming on a 50 mbps line connected via an ethernet cable, the tv can display the speed being used, it is never more than 15.25 mbps at 2160, even though Fast.com will show 47 plus mbps, just curious as to via the tv wont register higher than 15.25
Ain't you answering your own question? Fast.com is a speed test that attempts to max your line (50mbps) while your TV is simply showing the speed being used (15.25mbps). Netflix can only use so much bandwidth.
 

Suspect99

Executive Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2012
Messages
5,493
Different question, I have a Hisense 65U8A streaming on a 50 mbps line connected via an ethernet cable, the tv can display the speed being used, it is never more than 15.25 mbps at 2160, even though Fast.com will show 47 plus mbps, just curious as to via the tv wont register higher than 15.25
4k uses about that much. It doesn't need to use more just because your line is faster
 
Top