Afrihost Pure DSL

KillerOnDrugX

Active Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2019
Messages
98
On another note, anyone know why I can't port forward anymore? So I used to host some game servers by port forwarding of course and one day last year it stopped working. Now if I try to have someone connect to my servers, it doesn't work. The changing IP addresses isn't a problem as I just gave everyone the new IP every time it switched (like once every week or 2). Idk if it is DSL related or router or what but it's frustrating
 

Ghostfibre

Well-Known Member
Company Rep
Joined
Feb 24, 2020
Messages
229
Lena Arens Rd that looks like the batteries have been ripped out.
Most of those exchanges have been decommissioned and re-routed from Openserve, Alan Paton they just straight up turned the exchange off and moved away without notice.
 

wingnut771

Honorary Master
Joined
Feb 15, 2011
Messages
15,183
Most of those exchanges have been decommissioned and re-routed from Openserve, Alan Paton they just straight up turned the exchange off and moved away without notice.
How do you do that with copper? People with DSL in Alon Paton just had no lines anymore? Was Telkom kind enough to cancel their lines?
 

Ghostfibre

Well-Known Member
Company Rep
Joined
Feb 24, 2020
Messages
229
How do you do that with copper? People with DSL in Alon Paton just had no lines anymore? Was Telkom kind enough to cancel their lines?
We had to find out the hard way when it just vanished one day and let it go on for a month or two without it being active.
 

KillerOnDrugX

Active Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2019
Messages
98
Anyone else been experiencing random disconnects the last few weeks?
Some yeah, and massive ping spikes at night that Openserve refused to acknowledge. I decided to switch to the Pure LTE till my fibre is live. Though of course, since placing my LTE order, the spikes and disconnects have stopped :ROFL:
 

rambo919

Honorary Master
Joined
Jul 30, 2008
Messages
18,591
Some yeah, and massive ping spikes at night that Openserve refused to acknowledge. I decided to switch to the Pure LTE till my fibre is live. Though of course, since placing my LTE order, the spikes and disconnects have stopped :ROFL:
It's coincided with herotel starting to go live in my area..... I am starting to think it's not coincidence.
 

KillerOnDrugX

Active Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2019
Messages
98
It's coincided with herotel starting to go live in my area..... I am starting to think it's not coincidence.
I was thinking the same as mine started when Openserve started working in the area even though Metrofibre had completed their builds months before. Did you contact @AfriNatic ?
 

KillerOnDrugX

Active Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2019
Messages
98
No I havent had too much trouble so far but the disconnects are increasing.
Let's hope it improves, but if it is getting worse you should log it. I used to get them in the mornings, around 8-11:30am but haven't had them in at least a week
 

rambo919

Honorary Master
Joined
Jul 30, 2008
Messages
18,591
Everything has stabilized, must really have been a town wide problem. If it magically comes back this weekend it will prove that it's an exchange related problem.
 

rambo919

Honorary Master
Joined
Jul 30, 2008
Messages
18,591
Well, it came back.... been randomly going off and on for weeks now. Especially over weekends.

Same thing happens to someone else on the other side of town with a different ISP.

Must be the exchange trying to cope with traffic or something..
 

AfriNatic

Afrihost Rep
Staff member
Joined
Nov 18, 2016
Messages
5,426
Well, it came back.... been randomly going off and on for weeks now. Especially over weekends.

Same thing happens to someone else on the other side of town with a different ISP.

Must be the exchange trying to cope with traffic or something..

Hi,

We should look into logging a fault again.

Just drop me a pm so we can get the fault logged.
 

rambo919

Honorary Master
Joined
Jul 30, 2008
Messages
18,591
Hi,

We should look into logging a fault again.

Just drop me a pm so we can get the fault logged.
Is there really a point? Won't the telkom guy just come around again, see it happens to work when he's there and then say he doesn't know why it does it?
 

AfriNatic

Afrihost Rep
Staff member
Joined
Nov 18, 2016
Messages
5,426
Is there really a point? Won't the telkom guy just come around again, see it happens to work when he's there and then say he doesn't know why it does it?

Possible but that is unfortunately the starting point and them from there we will escalate as per the escalation matrix from Openserve.
 

Hemps

Honorary Master
Joined
Jan 19, 2009
Messages
10,747
Openserve came around to repair my vdsl link, once done he asked me if I still use the phone line and I said never.
He then told me to ask Afrihost to switch me over to PureDsl to save the R210p/m for telephone I never use.
Is this still possible?
Last I read/heard you had to cancel then reapply?
 

AfriNatic

Afrihost Rep
Staff member
Joined
Nov 18, 2016
Messages
5,426
Openserve came around to repair my vdsl link, once done he asked me if I still use the phone line and I said never.
He then told me to ask Afrihost to switch me over to PureDsl to save the R210p/m for telephone I never use.
Is this still possible?
Last I read/heard you had to cancel then reapply?

Yes so unfortunately it's a new application for Pure DSL.

I did notice that there was an memo sent about migrating legacy clients from copper connect that don't use the line to pure connect. Let me ask around a bit and let you know.

Do you have the DSL with us already?
 

Hemps

Honorary Master
Joined
Jan 19, 2009
Messages
10,747
Yes so unfortunately it's a new application for Pure DSL.

I did notice that there was an memo sent about migrating legacy clients from copper connect that don't use the line to pure connect. Let me ask around a bit and let you know.

Do you have the DSL with us already?
Hi, yip I have my 20Mb vdsl with Afrihost already so was hoping it would be easy.
Thanks
 
Top