Afrihost - Pure Fibre Feedback Thread

pexxie

Active Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2009
Messages
30
Hi there,

Please can you send me your clientzone email via pm so I can have a look for you?
I just discovered Afrihost have cut ties with NAPAfrica. That would explain the routing weirdness. I initially guessed it was for cost-cutting, but NAPAfrica says "100% free peering", so that's confusing. This has nothing to do with my account - I have it at work too, completely different lines and accounts.
 
Last edited:

AfriNatic

Afrihost Rep
Company Rep
Joined
Nov 18, 2016
Messages
6,784
I just discovered Afrihost have cut ties with NAPAfrica. That would explain the routing weirdness. I initially guessed it was for cost-cutting, but NAPAfrica says "100% free peering", so that's confusing. This has nothing to do with my account - I have it at work too, completely different lines and accounts.

Hi,

We do peer at DBN.

Can you send me your clientzone email address so I can see what IP you are getting.

Want to replicate the issue and send to Noc.
 

AfriNatic

Afrihost Rep
Company Rep
Joined
Nov 18, 2016
Messages
6,784
Morning,

Openserve has confirmed everything is working as it should for Openserve Centurion. Anyone on Openserve Centurion still experiencing slow speeds and high latency?
 

Freakboy

Expert Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2006
Messages
1,192
Morning,

Openserve has confirmed everything is working as it should for Openserve Centurion. Anyone on Openserve Centurion still experiencing slow speeds and high latency?

Mine still not back to what I would expect on an 100 (hopefully 200 soon) line.

fast.JPG

11031755756.png


testmynet.JPG
 

AfriNatic

Afrihost Rep
Company Rep
Joined
Nov 18, 2016
Messages
6,784
Line works, currently failed over on Vox. Ticket is AEK-724-62637 if you can please check

I have responded on email. I don't see any sessions or auth attempts at all not even failed ones. Can you confirm you are using the correct username?

I will reset the line port and reset the clid to make sure it isn't and issue there.
 

jurkrit

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2008
Messages
136
Morning,

Openserve has confirmed everything is working as it should for Openserve Centurion. Anyone on Openserve Centurion still experiencing slow speeds and high latency?
Hi @AfriNatic, so my line is back to 100/100 since this morning, could you please check my account speed stuff :)
 

AfriNatic

Afrihost Rep
Company Rep
Joined
Nov 18, 2016
Messages
6,784
Any particular reason we're routing DBN via JHB for Cloudflare? Telkom aint doin this. It's been like this a while now. Just wish I had noted when I first noticed the higher latency.

EDIT: Seeing the same thing reaching Teraco. With Telkom I get sent to DB1, but with Afrihost I get routed to JHB. Lol, dodgy routing at 169.1.5.204. What on earth is this CGNAT at 100.127.4.176 all about?

Code:
Afrihost:
Tracing route to one.one.one.one [1.1.1.1]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  192.168.1.1
  2     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  3    15 ms     9 ms     5 ms  165-73-14-89.ip.afrihost.co.za [165.73.14.89]
  4     8 ms     4 ms     3 ms  165-73-14-66.ip.afrihost.co.za [165.73.14.66]
  5     3 ms     3 ms     3 ms  dbn-in1.ip.adsl.co.za [169.1.5.204]
  6    14 ms    15 ms    15 ms  100.127.4.176
  7    15 ms    15 ms    24 ms  cloudflare.ixp.joburg [196.60.8.198]
  8    14 ms    15 ms    15 ms  one.one.one.one [1.1.1.1]

Telkom:
Tracing route to one.one.one.one [1.1.1.1]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  192.168.1.1
  2     1 ms     1 ms     1 ms  10.0.0.2
  3     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  4     8 ms     7 ms    10 ms  105-187-235-149.telkomsa.net [105.187.235.149]
  5     7 ms     4 ms     3 ms  105-187-235-150.telkomsa.net [105.187.235.150]
  6     6 ms     *        6 ms  cust-aggr-2.east.telkomsa.net [105.229.0.13]
  7     8 ms     3 ms     3 ms  db1-pr-01.net.telkomsa.net [105.187.249.74]
  8     7 ms     6 ms     *     196-10-141-198.ixp.durban [196.10.141.198]
  9     6 ms     3 ms     4 ms  one.one.one.one [1.1.1.1]

Hi,

This issue should be resolved now.

Please can you check and confirm?
 
Top