Afrihost will buy majority stake in Cool Ideas

Sinbad

Honorary Master
Joined
Jun 5, 2006
Messages
76,943
You sure about this now? From Afrihost fiber in Joburg:
ping uk.hosted.co.za
PING uk.hosted.co.za (46.101.7.229) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from eu.hosted.co.za (46.101.7.229): icmp_seq=1 ttl=55 time=166 ms
64 bytes from eu.hosted.co.za (46.101.7.229): icmp_seq=2 ttl=55 time=165 ms
64 bytes from eu.hosted.co.za (46.101.7.229): icmp_seq=3 ttl=55 time=165 ms
64 bytes from eu.hosted.co.za (46.101.7.229): icmp_seq=4 ttl=55 time=165 ms
64 bytes from eu.hosted.co.za (46.101.7.229): icmp_seq=5 ttl=55 time=165 ms
64 bytes from eu.hosted.co.za (46.101.7.229): icmp_seq=6 ttl=55 time=165 ms
64 bytes from eu.hosted.co.za (46.101.7.229): icmp_seq=7 ttl=55 time=165 ms
64 bytes from eu.hosted.co.za (46.101.7.229): icmp_seq=8 ttl=55 time=165 ms
64 bytes from eu.hosted.co.za (46.101.7.229): icmp_seq=9 ttl=55 time=166 ms
How is joburg a coastal region?
 

waynehooper

Senior Member
Joined
Sep 4, 2008
Messages
707
Your network from the coastal regions .. e.g EL sucks big time. Your routing is totally wrong. Pings to the UK is over 220ms
Is not really their network but rather Frogfoot. When they were installing fibre and saw all the hassles people were having in PE and Garden Route. Decided then that I would rather pay a bit more and go with SADV/Vuma. Have had a few outages, but speeds have been great.
 

Dan C

Honorary Master
Joined
Nov 21, 2005
Messages
28,899
Is not really their network but rather Frogfoot. When they were installing fibre and saw all the hassles people were having in PE and Garden Route. Decided then that I would rather pay a bit more and go with SADV/Vuma. Have had a few outages, but speeds have been great.
I only have Frogfoot in my complex :(
 

HNAS

New Member
Joined
Apr 13, 2019
Messages
8
Yes and the latency from EL to JHB is sometimes in the high 30ms, so add that to your test.
True, but ISP's I know are limited to where the fiber provider breaks out. Would have been great if FF in EL had a breakout to hand to any ISP, but they dont. So it's not a routing issue with the ISP, but rather your Fiber provider which has the issue. So whether it's Afrihost, Cool Ideas, or MWEB/etc, you will have the same issue.
 

Dan C

Honorary Master
Joined
Nov 21, 2005
Messages
28,899
True, but ISP's I know are limited to where the fiber provider breaks out. Would have been great if FF in EL had a breakout to hand to any ISP, but they dont. So it's not a routing issue with the ISP, but rather your Fiber provider which has the issue. So whether it's Afrihost, Cool Ideas, or MWEB/etc, you will have the same issue.
This I know and I hope that Afrihost can work with FF to sort this out. Back in the ADSL days Afrihost also had about 20ms more latency than VOX for example.
 

AfriNatic

Afrihost Rep
Staff member
Joined
Nov 18, 2016
Messages
4,464
See now, this is boxing clever... Become afrihosts backbone provider and do a better job than they currently do...

We have recently lit up Cogent capacity via Echo and it's been performing very well.

Below is a trace done to the UK just now on my Metro Fibre line when traffic levels are quite high being a public holiday and "Netflix" time.

Capture.PNG
 

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Company Rep
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
10,756
We have recently lit up Cogent capacity via Echo and it's been performing very well.

Below is a trace done to the UK just now on my Metro Fibre line when traffic levels are quite high being a public holiday and "Netflix" time.

View attachment 1090035
Yeah it's tricky with multiple transit providers, you can't really control return path routes and undersea cables, so you will always have some stuff that's great and other stuff that isn't. Or the traffic would be asymmetrical in nature. I believe Openserve uses mostly a blend of WACs and SAT3 and Cogent uses WACs and Seacom.
 
Last edited:
Top