Axxess SEACOM accounts?

JohnsonCT

Active Member
Joined
May 28, 2008
Messages
83
I see. Well, I always assumed that IS and SAIX are two backbone providers (in the non-physical infrastructure sense) and that other ISPs (Axxess, Nexus, WebAfrica, OpenWeb, etc) would buy their bandwidth/usage from them.
You are correct. SAIX and IS are two of the main backbone providers in SA. IS has it's own international connectivity via satellite and SAT3 which makes it a backbone provider. Verizon/MTN Business also has satellite connectivity making them a backbone provider too. And now with Neotel having access to SEACOM, that makes another backbone provider!

Telkom's ADSL infrastructure has nothing to do with them being a backbone provider. Backbone providers very often don't even have last mile connectivity (local loop).
 

PuffTheMagicDragQueen

Active Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2007
Messages
33
So in other words....we have to buy bandwidth through axess at the moment to get the advantage of the faster speeds???!!!
A lot of ISPs sell IS accounts, however while IS is buying some bandwidth on the SEACOM cable, they still have existing contracts which means that it will be some time before we see prices dropping drastically. Also it it yet to be seen how much of a saving IS will pass on.
 

mika1000

Expert Member
Joined
Oct 11, 2008
Messages
1,679
Try bargaining with Cybersmart - R499-00 for 10Gb + grow for life (gives you an extra 2mb or 3mb per day) + nightrider (download between 1am and 7.59am) and you can use 35Gb per month. No other ISP can beat that. With or without Seacom.
 

flarkit

Executive Member
Joined
Mar 27, 2006
Messages
6,470
Try bargaining with Cybersmart - R499-00 for 10Gb + grow for life (gives you an extra 2mb or 3mb per day) + nightrider (download between 1am and 7.59am) and you can use 35Gb per month. No other ISP can beat that. With or without Seacom.
Do they still have the rule that you can't use a bridged connection to another ISP on your ADSL modem? For example, having a cheap local-only connection simultaneously?
 

Pilgrim

Wugger
Joined
Jul 5, 2006
Messages
3,091
Do they still have the rule that you can't use a bridged connection to another ISP on your ADSL modem? For example, having a cheap local-only connection simultaneously?
Yea, but that does not stop me.

The rule is more specifically, if you do something like that don't bother phoning their helpdesk when your connection does not work. They will not help you.

Problem is if people install stuff like route sentry or do local/int splitting using a router etc. there is no way for their tech support to help you. So, keep it simple and they will help you. Play around and you are on your own.

I have been running Cybersmart with an Axxes local only account for 6 months now, no problems. I even ran 3 accounts once: localonly, unshaped for gaming and Cybersmart for the rest. No problems.

I would not recommend this for a beginner though, it is rather complicated, and as I said, you lose all Cybersmart support the moment you attempt this.
 

wikus

Senior Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2008
Messages
822
Do they still have the rule that you can't use a bridged connection to another ISP on your ADSL modem? For example, having a cheap local-only connection simultaneously?
I cancelled my account with CyberSmart this month because they failed to keep up with the market trends with regard to the packages they offer.
ISP's like Axxess and WebAfrica will get ahead in the ISP game because they offer innovative offers like Prepaid Local-only, Unshaped and Uncapped bandwidth which allows them to cater for many different markets.
 

Cloud

Expert Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2003
Messages
2,085
I just find the fact that Cybersmart charge more for 3gb at 4mbps than 3gbs at 38kbps hilarious.

I wouldn't touch them with a ten foot pole.
 

Cloud

Expert Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2003
Messages
2,085
Try bargaining with Cybersmart - R499-00 for 10Gb + grow for life (gives you an extra 2mb or 3mb per day) + nightrider (download between 1am and 7.59am) and you can use 35Gb per month. No other ISP can beat that. With or without Seacom.
Wtf is up with the shameless Cybersmart promoting, you work for them?

http://mybroadband.co.za/vb/showthread.php?p=2992917#post2992917

http://mybroadband.co.za/vb/showthread.php?p=2992920#post2992920

I would be careful when considering Cybersmart. As said before, no unshaped (even though they tell my brother that it is) and they charge more for bandwidth depending on your line speed?!
 
Last edited:

StoneCold

Expert Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2006
Messages
3,654
I just find the fact that Cybersmart charge more for 3gb at 4mbps than 3gbs at 38kbps hilarious.

I wouldn't touch them with a ten foot pole.
I'm just waiting for Openweb's new packages that they are going to make available early August and then perhaps also cancel my account with them. Thinking of upgrading my 384k to 4mb as well, but I agree, charging you more if you have a 4mb line for a 3GB cap is nonsense.
 

jacksback

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2009
Messages
369
+1

R250 for 10GBs... Gee... High standards much? *sarcasm*

Personally, R800 for unshaped, uncapped with no threshold (including DSL rental) and I'll be fine with it. Hell, R1,000 including line rental and I'll be fine with it. Anything over that is too 10-years-ago for my liking.

For "capped" services I'd expect it to be under R500 with caps of about 45-75GBs (again, unshaped).
An 8meg unlimited data connection for R350 per month is what we want. That's what I was paying in the UK

For R1000 you should be getting a DSTV, phone and internet bundle
 
Last edited:

ldmelsa

Executive Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2006
Messages
5,694
An 8meg unlimited data connection for R350 per month is what we want. That's what I was paying in the UK

For R1000 you should be getting a DSTV, phone and internet bundle
you can't compare a 3rd world country to a 1st world one
 

labratza

Expert Member
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
2,853
I wish we had a cap like that in our country do you know what fun we could have and maybe the piracy wont be so high cos you run out of ideas of what to download
 

wikus

Senior Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2008
Messages
822
I wish we had a cap like that in our country do you know what fun we could have and maybe the piracy wont be so high cos you run out of ideas of what to download
Omg, you can't be serious.
That's like saying thieves should keep on stealing, there will eventually not be anything left to steal.
 

SHVAK

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 4, 2009
Messages
437
I wish we had a cap like that in our country do you know what fun we could have and maybe the piracy wont be so high cos you run out of ideas of what to download
I laughed so hard I think I hurt myself :erm:
Reminds me of a local internet cafe owner I knew... Always noticed this guy parked outside his cafe using a laptop.
Never came in the store, just sat there most lunchtimes.
Took him about six months to figure out he had put no password on his wifi network. A very expensive mistake, luckily it's a small town so only one guy twigged :D
 
Top