Bank blocked my account and took my UIF money. Any advice?

kinghemp

Hi All,

This is my first post here so I hope that I'm in the right section etc...

This is the short version of the incident:

I have been battling with getting my UIF paid out since November 2015. They eventually processed my payment, yay! Or so I thought...

On Friday the 29th of April I logged into uFiling to check my payout status it read "Sent to Paymaster". This means that the payment was approved and would be actioned within a day or two. Cool. I logged into my internet banking on Saturday the 30th to check balances etc so that I could organise my budget. On Monday the 2nd at about 20:00 I logged into uFiling again and the status had changed to "Payment - Done". Lekka, the money would be in in a day or two.

I tried to login to my internet banking the next morning(Tuesday the 3rd) and it kept saying profile mismatch. Tried on a couple different browsers and tried the mobile app. They all said the same thing. I phoned the bank's call centre and, as usual, put me through to the wrong department a few times. Getting fed up with this I decided to go into the branch and see what was cooking. When I eventually got to a teller he said that my account was blocked and that I needed to contact the legal department.

I duely contacted the legal department and they informed me that my account had become dormant due to inactivity. Which, at the time made sense. I then told them that my UIF was coming in imminently and requested that they unblock it. They refused. I told them that this was my UIF money and that I need it to move to the Cape to start my new job. Being unsure of the amount that UIF would pay out, the agent assured me that we could come to an arrangement once the money was in.