Best 2nd hand car to buy under R150 k ???

Lou101

Good Day all

I'm new to mybroadband so please don't be harsh if i may ask a dumb/repeated question here, i'm still figuring this out :p

Im looking at buying a 2nd hand vehicle around the R150k mark.

I have lined up quite few cars im looking at.
Main focus is on Fuel economy, reliability and a bit of torque if i may need to get out of trouble somewhere.

• VW -polo 1.6 or 1.2tsi
Im just wondering what the torque is on the 1.2tsi, if i have 3 passengers(boepenses and luggage), will i be able to overtake a truck at going 120 ?

• Ford fiesta -the 1.0 ecoboost, same question , does it have enough umphhh to go past someone.
Otherwise ill look at the 1.6tdci ?
Maybe an older model ST gdti and spend a bit more ?

I'm not interested in a car with more than 140 000 km on the clock , i'm only planning on driving it for maybe max 3 to 4 years.

Other cars i've been looking at are the 1.4 tsi dsg polo, audi a4 1.8, huyindai i20, kia rio.

Other models can aslo be suggested seeing as im not an expert.

Any advise would be much appreciated if you maybe have owned any of the above or have advise in any way.

Lou101

If heard horror stories regarding diesel pumps and turbos on 320d's, what does services cost and how reliable are they. Do you maybe have an idea?

semisane1987

R150K you looking at small cars VW Up, Kia Picanto, Hyundai i10 grand or Suzuki Swift if you looking for something newish. Don't know if you buying cash but you can try the new Nissan Micra Active try to get some discount.

I think R150k if you looking for a bigger car, you looking at something old 2014.

Sumen

Expert Member
Opel Astra 1.4t, you will be able to find one
Also Renault Megane 1.4Tce
Audi A3

Last edited:

Lou101

R150K you looking at small cars VW Up, Kia Picanto, Hyundai i10 grand or Suzuki Swift if you looking for something newish. Don't know if you buying cash but you can try the new Nissan Micra Active try to get some discount.