Best places to get a laptop (I'm a writer who quit my job and am going freelance)

zolly

Expert Member
Hey folks,

So after being an employee for my entire working career, I've decided to go solo. I'm a copy/technical writer and am looking for an affordable but reasonably speedy laptop. Where should I start looking for good deals?

And are there any entry level machines that I should keep an eye out for? I don't need it to have a lot of graphical oomph, but I would like something with an SSD in it. I have an 2-3 year old i7 Dell with a mechanical drive (pretty sure it's 5400 rpm) and 8 gigs of ram at my current place of work and it takes forever to get going in the mornings.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

MirageF1

Executive Member
Put a SSD in your current laptop and you'll see a huge difference in speed
+1, WD Blue /and later Green SSD turned my aging T420 into a Ferrari ( well disk access and bootup by comparison)

Of course you also need to clean up/disable superfluous/mem hogging services and do at very least some basic day to day admin (configure paging as single file, display options, etc ) to keep it humming at it's best....

bwana

B MyBroadband
Super Moderator
As a writer you don’t really need a speedy laptop, do you?

MirageF1

Executive Member
Sadly "my" current laptop is a work machine. Going to be handing it in after I leave. But I'll keep this in mind if I get a machine without a SSD.
Get yourself something like a Lenovo T420 or later...relatively cheap if you look around on Gumtree properly for a well maintained, decently spec'd model for under R3-R3.5k.

zolly

Expert Member
As a writer you don’t really need a speedy laptop, do you?
By speedy I mean responsive. For example, booting from cold on my current laptop takes 2-3 minutes, and then all the Dell Bloatware has to load, and then Chrome has to open all my tabs... It's a pain.

Spontaneous spinach