Budding writers

Are there any amateur/budding/unpublished writers on this forum? I can't seem to find any subject on this anywhere. Would be lovely to have a thread for this as I am an unpublished writer.:cool:

Sepeng

Expert Member
So I'm not but got a good friend that's recently had their 3rd book approved by their agent for publishing and I'm amazed at the amount of work that goes into it - not just the research and writing part, but the rewriting and then the marketing aspect. They've been on many tours, book fairs, radio stations, they wrote to Oprah, Trevor Noah - it's a proper grind to get your name out there, get publicity.
It's also fascinating to hear how they go about writing, where they get inspiration from.
This person was an architect before they decided they wanted to start writing, took a course at UCT I think, never looked back.
I'm trying to write more, not novels or anything, really just writing more - reviews, opinion pieces - just to get into the habit. It's tough - I tend to start things OK but then it becomes messy (my wife says she's not surprised by this...) - but fun, but takes me a while to write anything so don't do it as much as I'd like.

pinball wizard

Honorary Master
Are there any amateur/budding/unpublished writers on this forum? I can't seem to find any subject on this anywhere. Would be lovely to have a thread for this as I am an unpublished writer.:cool:
Whatever you do, please for the love of all the literary gods, do not "self publish".

pinball wizard

Honorary Master
your written word, so that it can be downloaded to another machine does not make you an author, any more than me buying a stethoscope allows me to be called a doctor. A “singer” is someone who sings. A “professional singer” is someone who makes a living from singing. There is a stark contrast between being a writer and being a professional author.
https://goodereader.com/blog/commentary/self-publishers-should-not-be-called-authors