Buying a PS4 in Hong Kong to bring it back to South Africa

mdross88

Hi everyone,

I'm travelling to Hong Kong next month and am thinking of buying a PS4 to bring back (I see they aren't area-locked so should be fine). Just wanted to post on here to get some advice as I am by no means an expert at any of this. General questions which I'd appreciate any advice on...

1. This is legal right??
2. I know electronics are cheaper across there, reckon the admin is worth it still?
3. Taxes and rules for bringing it back? A mate mentioned I should unbox it there and bring it back as 'not-new' (just claim I can't live without my PS4 and took it with me on holiday)?
4. Tips and tricks and just any advice.

I'd really appreciate it. Thanks!

Chevron

Serial breaker of phones
Be aware that x and circle are swapped around in asian countries. not on the controllers, but in the games when they detected you have an asian console.

I think they are region 1/a so SA blu rays won't work unless they are region free.

mdross88

Oh hectic, didn't realise that. Not a deal breaker but that is admin. Don't watch Blu-rays etc, so not too worried about that. Thanks for your insights! Really appreciated. Gonna have to think about that and keep it in mind. I wonder if they have options for that.

Batista

Executive Member
How much will you be saving though? Do you have a place in mind to buy it already?

mdross88

Hi Batista,

The mate I'm staying with lives in Sham Shui Po which is where the famous 'Golden Computer Market' is. He is gonna do all the research for me so if there's a good deal I'm literally gonna walk into the shop where it'll have been set aside and pick it up. I will only buy it if it's a big saving (but hear that the games especially are much cheaper, like 2/3rds the price). I just figured I'd start getting my ducks in a row in case he finds there is a really good deal.

Sensorei

Executive Member