Can a CEO of a company be held liable?

The_Librarian

Another MyBB
Super Moderator
Scenario - workers haven't been paid for 3 months. (Not us, but somebody in the family).

Can the CEO be held liable and be forced to backpay salaries by selling his house/car/etc and use the proceeds for salaries?

Midnights_Ghost

It's been a while since I studied that but if I remember correctly it will depend on how the company is registered (CC, PTY, PTY Ltd etc)

A quick google search and I found this

Edit: I also believe it may be the on the owner of the business. Unless it's the same person

Zarnicate

This depends on the type of business. This is how I understand it.
Sole proprietor: Yes
Partnership: Yes
Company: No
Closed Corporation: No

Company, Closed Corporation is seen as a legal entity on its own this these can be forced to sell company assets but not force the CEO to sell private assets.

Zarnicate

But either option basically means end of the business/employment

Cray

Honorary Master
Scenario - workers haven't been paid for 3 months. (Not us, but somebody in the family).

Can the CEO be held liable and be forced to backpay salaries by selling his house/car/etc and use the proceeds for salaries?
Generally not, if it's a limited company the CEO isn't liable for the debts of the company (unless reckless trading can be proved -that is a CEO continued to trade knowing that debts incurred could not be paid).

https://www.werksmans.com/legal-updates-and-opinions/reporting-obligations-directors-terms-companies-act-no-71-2008-reckless-trading-personal-liability/

Directors are obligated to report financial distress – failure to do so might result in personal liability.
Zarnicate's post is pretty spot-on in general respects..

Tman*

Expert Member
As mentioned, dependant on the type of business it can technically be done.