Career advice for BCOM Informatics graduate with 5 years IT working exp.

Hi,

As per the title, I'm a BCom Informatics graduate with 5 years working experience in IT.

I started out as an intern doing technical product support (7 months), then moved onto iOS Development (4 months) and I've been in testing for over 4 years now.

I have a done a few technical courses at Torque IT and my ISTQB over the years. I have no job satisfaction anymore regardless of where I work. I have some coding experience and I've also done some automation for a bit, but that's not what I'm looking for.

I have tried applying for Business Analyst positions, but management always felt that I'm too technical for that role. I was interested in becoming a Systems Analyst (not the Java developer with a fancy job title) but lost that opportunity when I left my previous company.

I am interested in doing some courses along the lines of business/systems analysis. I have looked at FTI(ridiculously expensive) and GetSmarter.

I understand UML, process flows, requirements analysis, ERDs, SQL, various programming languages, business vs functional requirements, Agile methodology, etc.

What I'm looking for is advice and perhaps some mentoring as to what/where to study and what career path to follow.

Thank you,

Spacerat

If you have BCom I suppose you have some accounting background? Them maybe look at the area of ERP consultant. This role usually combines a degree of finance / BA / coding (customisation) etc. Many ERPs our there. best to approach the VARs. They always looking for people

skimread

Executive Member
I looked at this a few years back but the CBAP cert is like $500 USD and you have to do a 3 year renewal.

skimread

Executive Member