Centurion gate motor troubleshooting

Borrels

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2009
Messages
676
I'm having trouble with my Centurion D5 gate motor. It is not responding to the remote or intercom but I can see from the LED's that it is picking up the signal when I press the remote button. On the pc board the STATUS LED is flashing 4 times but I can't figure out what it means. I've tried disconnecting but it didn't help.

I found an Operator Programming Guide and the User Guide on the Centurion website but neither offer any troubleshooting.

Anyone know where I can find this info, or know what the error code means?
 

PsyWulf

Executive Member
Joined
Nov 22, 2006
Messages
8,695
Try setting it to programming mode and then re-entering the master remote,i've had a time or 2 where the memory has been completely reset after bad weather
 

Voicy

Honorary Master
Joined
Sep 19, 2007
Messages
10,947
Try setting it to programming mode and then re-entering the master remote,i've had a time or 2 where the memory has been completely reset after bad weather
Before doing that, simply press the "Test" button on the PCB itself. It serves the same purpose as a remote and if it doesn't operate the gate, then you can rule out that the remote is the problem. The fact that LED's light up when pressing it, confirms this for me already.

When disconnecting the power to reset the PCB, you need to remove the 12V connector on the PCB as well as the battery connectors. Unless both are disconnected, the PCB will remain powered.

Keep it off for 5 seconds then reconnect both the Battery terminals and the 12V connector. If you press your remote, listen for the clicking sounds of the relays on the board. If they activate but there is no motor action, check the 3 fuses on the board. They are over current protection fuses and may have blown if the motor got stuck.

Also check the bottom of the board for ants, they are notorious for shorting out PCB's.
 

Borrels

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2009
Messages
676
Before doing that, simply press the "Test" button on the PCB itself. It serves the same purpose as a remote and if it doesn't operate the gate, then you can rule out that the remote is the problem. The fact that LED's light up when pressing it, confirms this for me already.

When disconnecting the power to reset the PCB, you need to remove the 12V connector on the PCB as well as the battery connectors. Unless both are disconnected, the PCB will remain powered.

Keep it off for 5 seconds then reconnect both the Battery terminals and the 12V connector. If you press your remote, listen for the clicking sounds of the relays on the board. If they activate but there is no motor action, check the 3 fuses on the board. They are over current protection fuses and may have blown if the motor got stuck.

Also check the bottom of the board for ants, they are notorious for shorting out PCB's.
Thanks for the advice, will try it.

I've tried the TEST button and it had the same effect as the remote, so I also don't think the remotes are a problem. I couldn't hear the relays but I didn't disconnect for the 5 seconds you mentioned, so that may be the problem. Or the ants...
 

Voicy

Honorary Master
Joined
Sep 19, 2007
Messages
10,947
Thanks for the advice, will try it.

I've tried the TEST button and it had the same effect as the remote, so I also don't think the remotes are a problem. I couldn't hear the relays but I didn't disconnect for the 5 seconds you mentioned, so that may be the problem. Or the ants...
No worries.

It's a simple process of elimination. The simple checklist is:

- Check fuses.
- Check battery level (13.8V while charging, but if the gate motor doesn't even attempt to move, then it's probably not a flat battery)
- Check board for damaged tracks/etc.
- Check battery connectors (if you disconnect the battery, the terminals should have +/- 13.8V across them.)

You don't need to worry about checking the motor or DOS wheel at this stage, since it's not a matter of the gate starting/stopping intermittently.

If the fuses etc. all check out fine, you could also perform a recalibration on the gate limits. (Reprogramming the gate). The manual explains how to do this perfectly. If the gate runs during this exercise, then you know the motor/dos wheel/relays/etc. are all working fine.
 

Grimspoon

Executive Member
Joined
Nov 9, 2006
Messages
8,855
Mine is also giving me hell. Got home opened the gate and by mistake pushed it again which stopped the gate so I pushed again and it started closing and then did nothing. Found a piece of post stuck under the one wheel which I removed, but still cant get the freaking thing to work.

I tried everything even re programming the gate and nothing. Board clicks when I push the remote, status LED flashing 5 times. No dam idea.
 

PeeVee

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2005
Messages
232
I have the same Gate motor.

Just checked the manual and if the led flashes 4 times every two seconds it means a repeated obstruction at the gate.

It may be that your obstruction detection is set too sensitive, or that there really is an obstruction. (See page 10 of the "Centurion Swing Gate Operator User Guide")

I once had a similar problem and this was resolved by re-greasing the gate hinges

Hope this helps.

Regards
 

PeeVee

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 16, 2005
Messages
232
Mine is also giving me hell. Got home opened the gate and by mistake pushed it again which stopped the gate so I pushed again and it started closing and then did nothing. Found a piece of post stuck under the one wheel which I removed, but still cant get the freaking thing to work.

I tried everything even re programming the gate and nothing. Board clicks when I push the remote, status LED flashing 5 times. No dam idea.
5 Flashes is a Microprocessor reset with no remedy suggested in the manual.

I have the full set of manuals.
If anyone wants them I can upload to Dropbox.
 

Borrels

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2009
Messages
676
Did that this morning and they all look fine. :(


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Have you tried Voicy's suggesting of disconnecting both the battery and 12V terminals? This resolved my problem as the error code was reset and the gate worked fine. I did found however that you need to leave it disconnected for a while, not just unplug and replug immediately.

The Centurion manuals are on their website, but it's not obvious which one to get. I found the Installation Guide to be the only useful one as it has a Fault Finding section.
 

Grimspoon

Executive Member
Joined
Nov 9, 2006
Messages
8,855
Have you tried Voicy's suggesting of disconnecting both the battery and 12V terminals? This resolved my problem as the error code was reset and the gate worked fine. I did found however that you need to leave it disconnected for a while, not just unplug and replug immediately.

The Centurion manuals are on their website, but it's not obvious which one to get. I found the Installation Guide to be the only useful one as it has a Fault Finding section.
Yip I tried that last night, left both power, negative and PC board power off for a while and then replugged and nothing. I just get 5 red flashes on the status light.

O well, I tried, will get our gate guy out today. He thinks its a fuse. I checked the 3 fuses that I found, all looked 100% fine.

Is it possible for a fuse to be blown but you can't actually see where it blew? All 3 had the metal filament clearly visible without signs of it being broken.

Man I hate paying okes to do things that I know I could fix given a bit more time :p
 

Zarathustra

Expert Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2003
Messages
1,002
We have twice had a similar problem. Both times, it was the battery which needed to be replaced.

They are only about R120. Buy one & replace yourself. If you have a UPS with the same battery size, just swop out & test.
 

Grimspoon

Executive Member
Joined
Nov 9, 2006
Messages
8,855
We have twice had a similar problem. Both times, it was the battery which needed to be replaced.

They are only about R120. Buy one & replace yourself. If you have a UPS with the same battery size, just swop out & test.
Thanks Zara. But surely if it is running off the mains as well it would still work? Or not?
 

Zarathustra

Expert Member
Joined
Aug 7, 2003
Messages
1,002
That's what I thought, but apparently not, or so I was told.

The guy that fixed it the first time when I also thought I couldn't do it myself, told me that the gate runs off the battery first. So the battery needs to be be charged & working for the gate to function.

It didn't make sense, but trust me, replacing the battery fixed the problem, so I guess there is some truth in it afterall.

I don't understand it & I'm not a gate-guy, so maybe someone who is can explain it.

All I know, that when the gate stops working, I replace the battery (every 18-24 months) and life is good again.
 

ToxicBunny

Honorary Master
Joined
Apr 8, 2006
Messages
85,779
I had an issue with my gate awhile ago...

Looked at the fuses and they all looked 100%.... but I replaced them for the hell of it anyway, and then the gate started working...
 

FrankCastle

Executive Member
Joined
Dec 3, 2010
Messages
7,282
Is it possible for a fuse to be blown but you can't actually see where it blew? All 3 had the metal filament clearly visible without signs of it being broken.
Sometimes they look intact but the integrity of the metal is compromised.Its normally a bit darker than a new fuse.
Replace them anyway.
 

Haldex

Expert Member
Joined
Oct 17, 2011
Messages
4,987
I normally just kick it and turn the knob left and right.
Works everytime.
 

thisgeek

Expert Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2005
Messages
3,372
Yes, these motors run off battery (also have one). So while there may be a mains line to it, it is only for charging the battery. It is possible that your battery or even the charger is dead. Had a lightning strike that took out the charger module... only noticed a few days later when the battery finally ran out of juice. Replaced the charger module with a slightly newer model and it was fine for a few years until the battery finally died. Replaced that, and everything has been ok.

Just as a side note, in my (really odd) experience, fuses never blow. :p The components that the fuses are supposed to protect never survive the surges, but the fuses are always fine. Bizarre.
 
Last edited:

AntonCT

New Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2014
Messages
2
I have A Centiurion D3 which opens the gate but won't close it . Battery is new and measures 13 V .
 
Top