Cool Ideas Fibre ISP – Feedback Thread 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

JFT96

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 17, 2016
Messages
103
Why can't CI (and other ISP's) just be transparent about network issues? Just update network statuses. They use WHMCS which makes it so easy to do.

No. Instead I must sit here on a support call for 30+ minutes (still holding) just to find out WTF is going on... 5-20 Mbps international on a 100/100 line says their network status is a bit wrong.

1558166339508.png
 

Tinuva

The Magician
Joined
Feb 10, 2005
Messages
8,868
@PBCool

Routing from Cape Town to certain local ISPs are broken.
It switches between using NapAfrica CT then jumps over to NapAfrica DBN.

Edit: PS this is also affecting international somehow...as if international routes back through durban to cpt for short burts, same as the below graphs.

Look at this graph:

cisp-routing-borked.png

Here it shows going from Cape Town to DBN to Cape Town:
Code:
~ % mtr 196.41.17.1 --report-wide --show-ips
Start: 2019-05-18T10:52:11+0200
HOST: outlawstar                                 Loss%   Snt   Last   Avg  Best  Wrst StDev
  1.|-- router.lan (192.168.241.1)                  0.0%    10    0.2   0.2   0.2   0.2   0.0
  2.|-- 155.93.246.1                                0.0%    10    2.9  12.6   2.5  52.5  17.1
  3.|-- c3h-backbone.coolideas.co.za (154.0.1.125)  0.0%    10    1.1   1.1   1.1   1.2   0.0
  4.|-- c6h-backbone.coolideas.co.za (154.0.1.233)  0.0%    10   16.6  10.4   1.2  16.7   7.9
  5.|-- u12b-cust.coolideas.co.za (154.0.5.99)      0.0%    10   16.8  10.8   1.6  17.0   7.8
  6.|-- c66-backbone.coolideas.co.za (154.0.1.222)  0.0%    10   27.1  17.0   1.6  27.2  13.1
  7.|-- voxtelecom.ixp.durban (196.10.141.82)       0.0%    10   27.2  17.0   1.6  27.3  13.2
  8.|-- 41.193.72.14                                0.0%    10   27.8  20.2   1.6  28.9  12.5
  9.|-- 41.193.72.90                                0.0%    10   45.2  32.7   1.6  49.3  21.2
10.|-- 41.193.104.54                               0.0%    10   28.4  19.9   1.5  50.4  17.1
11.|-- 41.193.104.90                               0.0%    10   28.6  18.8   1.6  29.5  13.1
12.|-- vox-cpt4-r17.1.vox.co.za (196.41.17.1)      0.0%    10   28.4  18.3   1.6  30.2  13.5
Then here is it will then look like a bit later:
Code:
~ % mtr 196.41.17.1 --report-wide --show-ips
Start: 2019-05-18T10:53:37+0200
HOST: outlawstar                                 Loss%   Snt   Last   Avg  Best  Wrst StDev
  1.|-- router.lan (192.168.241.1)                  0.0%    10    0.2   0.2   0.2   0.3   0.0
  2.|-- 155.93.246.1                                0.0%    10    2.5   3.4   2.4   7.4   1.6
  3.|-- c3h-backbone.coolideas.co.za (154.0.1.125)  0.0%    10    1.1   1.1   1.1   1.2   0.0
  4.|-- cd-backbone.coolideas.co.za (154.0.1.13)    0.0%    10    1.3   1.3   1.2   1.3   0.0
  5.|-- vox-cpt4-r17.1.vox.co.za (196.41.17.1)      0.0%    10    1.7   1.7   1.7   2.0   0.1
I suspect somehow you have those routes see equal cost routing from CPT point of view.
 

talon

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 31, 2006
Messages
149
My advice to Cool Ideas is the following...

Update your Network Status Update page with some useful information regarding the problem with international speeds.

Capture.PNG
 

WickedMONK3Y

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 28, 2006
Messages
286
Yeah there is definitely something up with International. Via Cable, 200/200 Vuma Trenched, Bonaero Park. Some sites blaze through internationally, and then I try and download MSI Afterburner after reinstalling my PC... at 100kbps.... Speedtests are all over the place. Some at 2Mbbp, Some at full speed, full line speed. It is all over the damn place and CI are just quiet again.... sigh. Not even going to bother with a ticket or a call, the ticket might get answered by Wednesday...
 

Speed23

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2013
Messages
188
Twitch unwatchable since yesterday, every other streaming service working perfectly fine. Anyone else with the same issues? (MTN fibre)
 

SplaT

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2008
Messages
166
There is something I don't understand. Twitch absolutely refuses to work on my Vumatel CISP 100m line. It plays for 5 seconds then buffers for 30 seconds. It can't even do 160p.

However, just using a VPN, I can stream Twitch in flawless Source quality for hours without a single buffer.

I'm not sure how it works, but isn't this proof that Cool Ideas is shaping/throttling Twitch streaming? I mean, it's clearly not line itself. Twitch working perfectly when streamed through a VPN? Just seems fishy.

Am I misunderstanding how it works?
 

bar1

Expert Member
Joined
Sep 15, 2008
Messages
2,535
I am also struggling with streaming, but its been 2 weeks already and got worse.

I stream from my hetzner server in Germany, and it went from "transcode everything to 720 " to unwatchable, and another streaming service I have is also unwatchable, one I switch to 3G everything works perfectly.

I am not up to date with this thread.....had the problem been acknowledged? o we know what the problem is and have an ETA?
 

cytracon

Active Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2009
Messages
80
There is something I don't understand. Twitch absolutely refuses to work on my Vumatel CISP 100m line. It plays for 5 seconds then buffers for 30 seconds. It can't even do 160p.

However, just using a VPN, I can stream Twitch in flawless Source quality for hours without a single buffer.

I'm not sure how it works, but isn't this proof that Cool Ideas is shaping/throttling Twitch streaming? I mean, it's clearly not line itself. Twitch working perfectly when streamed through a VPN? Just seems fishy.

Am I misunderstanding how it works?
yes, they do shaping/throttling, that's also the reason why we don't get any feedbacks here ...
 

KinsZA

Expert Member
Joined
May 23, 2005
Messages
1,017
I am also struggling with streaming, but its been 2 weeks already and got worse.

I stream from my hetzner server in Germany, and it went from "transcode everything to 720 " to unwatchable, and another streaming service I have is also unwatchable, one I switch to 3G everything works perfectly.

I am not up to date with this thread.....had the problem been acknowledged? o we know what the problem is and have an ETA?
Problem not acknowledged or even remotely hinted on.
 

KamikaZe_88

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2009
Messages
142
There is something I don't understand. Twitch absolutely refuses to work on my Vumatel CISP 100m line. It plays for 5 seconds then buffers for 30 seconds. It can't even do 160p.

However, just using a VPN, I can stream Twitch in flawless Source quality for hours without a single buffer.

I'm not sure how it works, but isn't this proof that Cool Ideas is shaping/throttling Twitch streaming? I mean, it's clearly not line itself. Twitch working perfectly when streamed through a VPN? Just seems fishy.

Am I misunderstanding how it works?
Thanks, didn't think about VPN. The buffering sucks, im on 50Mb c-fiber on vuma. Wanted to go over to Cisp thinking that will sort the problem. Clearly they have the same issues seeing all the posts here.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top