Cool Ideas Fibre ISP – Feedback Thread 2

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Company Rep
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
6,419
@TheRoDent / @PBCool , kindly assist. I am not getting any traction on releasing my line into the pool. I know the OS process is not as simple as it should be. I was told Talisha would be able to assist, but I have not received a single reply from her, despite daily follow-up emails, phone calls and a promise from a colleague that I would be contacted before COB 2 days ago.
Hi There, if your line was requested to be released at the end of the month we would have done so via the OS portal, once this is done there is no way to change it aside from a manual process via our SDM which can take days/weeks/months depending on OS availability.
 

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Company Rep
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
6,419
Still no reply on my ticket.
This is more than likely packet loss related on the FF network as many have experienced, no excuse for no response to your ticket which I have escalated. Realistically this wont improve until we deploy the device in cape town in the next few weeks once hardware becomes available.
 

-Misfit-

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2010
Messages
278
This is more than likely packet loss related on the FF network as many have experienced, no excuse for no response to your ticket which I have escalated. Realistically this wont improve until we deploy the device in cape town in the next few weeks once hardware becomes available.
Thanks for the reply.

Is there anything I can do to escalate on Frogfoot's side as well? Would like this resolved as I am dependent on international servers (streaming, downloads, servers, etc).
 

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Company Rep
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
6,419
Thanks for the reply.

Is there anything I can do to escalate on Frogfoot's side as well? Would like this resolved as I am dependent on international servers (streaming, downloads, servers, etc).
Frogfoot and basically any FNO arent really interested in resolving packet loss on a home service.
 

DTBA

Expert Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2011
Messages
4,137
Frogfoot and basically any FNO arent really interested in resolving packet loss on a home service.
Are you guys putting in your own hardware in the place of theirs? Because they are not really worried about the small guys?
 

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Company Rep
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
6,419
Are you guys putting in your own hardware in the place of theirs? Because they are not really worried about the small guys?
Nah but we have to implement systems to mitigate the loss on the last mile, basically emulate smart stack for windows dumb stack :)
 

x7razor

Active Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2014
Messages
59
Because most of the time clients say they are using cable but are actually using wireless.
i don't even have any devices that can do 1gbps on wireless. lol must i provide pics from the cpe to the pc and the cable that's plugged in or will a video be better? before support will understand.

But i know whats going to happen again and again they going to assign a different ip switch off and switch on and do another test. If the problem is still not fixed they will try to blame my router and ask to plug cable into cpe and test again assign another ip again and test again been through this before.
 

x7razor

Active Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2014
Messages
59
Wonder if pay every month what i feel like on how my service was for the month will cisp be happy? Got **** service for a couple of months now since the start of June
 

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Company Rep
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
6,419
i don't even have any devices that can do 1gbps on wireless. lol must i provide pics from the cpe to the pc and the cable that's plugged in or will a video be better? before support will understand.

But i know whats going to happen again and again they going to assign a different ip switch off and switch on and do another test. If the problem is still not fixed they will try to blame my router and ask to plug cable into cpe and test again assign another ip again and test again been through this before.
Do you have a reference for me to investigate please?
 

-Misfit-

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2010
Messages
278
Frogfoot and basically any FNO arent really interested in resolving packet loss on a home service.
My speedtests at night give me 2 to 4mbps to international servers compared to the 100mbps that I pay for. This just seems extreme if it's all caused by packet loss.
 

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Company Rep
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
6,419
My speedtests at night give me 2 to 4mbps to international servers compared to the 100mbps that I pay for. This just seems extreme if it's all caused by packet loss.
Why is it extreme? Which region are you in?
 

-Misfit-

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2010
Messages
278
Why is it extreme? Which region are you in?
I'm in Stellenbosch.

I find it extreme since 2 to 4mbps is very slow, especially considering I have a 100/100 package, and that I get better speeds when I run the tests in the morning.

I would also expect my ping/latency to suffer with packet loss, but this remains stable, at least from what I've noticed. For example, I can still play some games on international servers (such as Apex Legends) without too much problems. But if I want to watch a twitch stream, then suddenly I can't even watch 480p without buffering.

At first I thought this was twitch being twitch (they are notoriously bad in regions outside the EU/NA), but after doing speed tests to 3 different locations in EU and all of them returning 2 to 4 mbps and also getting slow performance on other websites/servers (reddit loading videos/images slowly, raspberry pi downloading updates slowly, etc), I suspect something else is wrong.

I'm not expecting full download speeds to international, but having worse than ADSL/VDSL speeds to international servers on a fibre line is not something I expected.
 

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Company Rep
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
6,419
My speedtests at night give me 2 to 4mbps to international servers compared to the 100mbps that I pay for. This just seems extreme if it's all caused by packet loss.
Why is it extreme? Which region are you in?
 

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Company Rep
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
6,419
I'm in Stellenbosch.

I find it extreme since 2 to 4mbps is very slow, especially considering I have a 100/100 package, and that I get better speeds when I run the tests in the morning.

I would also expect my ping/latency to suffer with packet loss, but this remains stable, at least from what I've noticed. For example, I can still play some games on international servers (such as Apex Legends) without too much problems. But if I want to watch a twitch stream, then suddenly I can't even watch 480p without buffering.

At first I thought this was twitch being twitch (they are notoriously bad in regions outside the EU/NA), but after doing speed tests to 3 different locations in EU and all of them returning 2 to 4 mbps and also getting slow performance on other websites/servers (reddit loading videos/images slowly, raspberry pi downloading updates slowly, etc), I suspect something else is wrong.

I'm not expecting full download speeds to international, but having worse than ADSL/VDSL speeds to international servers on a fibre line is not something I expected.
Not at all with loss latency isn't really affected, have you done any IPerfs as yet to prove the loss?
 

-Misfit-

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2010
Messages
278
Not at all with loss latency isn't really affected, have you done any IPerfs as yet to prove the loss?
I have downloaded iPerf and have gotten the following results. I will do them again later tonight when I experience slower download speeds.

Connecting to host bouygues.iperf.fr, port 5200
[ 5] local 192.168.1.3 port 50507 connected to 89.84.1.222 port 5200
[ ID] Interval Transfer Bandwidth
[ 5] 0.00-1.00 sec 512 KBytes 4.19 Mbits/sec
[ 5] 1.00-2.00 sec 1.50 MBytes 12.6 Mbits/sec
[ 5] 2.00-3.00 sec 1.62 MBytes 13.7 Mbits/sec
[ 5] 3.00-4.00 sec 1.62 MBytes 13.6 Mbits/sec
[ 5] 4.00-5.00 sec 1.25 MBytes 10.5 Mbits/sec
[ 5] 5.00-6.00 sec 1.62 MBytes 13.6 Mbits/sec
[ 5] 6.00-7.00 sec 1.62 MBytes 13.6 Mbits/sec
[ 5] 7.00-8.00 sec 1.50 MBytes 12.6 Mbits/sec
[ 5] 8.00-9.00 sec 1.62 MBytes 13.6 Mbits/sec
[ 5] 9.00-10.00 sec 1.50 MBytes 12.6 Mbits/sec
[ 5] 10.00-11.00 sec 1.50 MBytes 12.6 Mbits/sec
[ 5] 11.00-12.00 sec 1.50 MBytes 12.6 Mbits/sec
[ 5] 12.00-13.00 sec 1.75 MBytes 14.7 Mbits/sec
[ 5] 13.00-14.00 sec 1.50 MBytes 12.6 Mbits/sec
[ 5] 14.00-15.00 sec 1.50 MBytes 12.6 Mbits/sec
[ 5] 15.00-16.00 sec 1.75 MBytes 14.7 Mbits/sec
[ 5] 16.00-17.00 sec 1.50 MBytes 12.6 Mbits/sec
[ 5] 17.00-18.00 sec 1.50 MBytes 12.6 Mbits/sec
[ 5] 18.00-19.00 sec 1.75 MBytes 14.7 Mbits/sec
[ 5] 19.00-20.00 sec 1.50 MBytes 12.6 Mbits/sec
[ 5] 20.00-21.00 sec 1.50 MBytes 12.6 Mbits/sec
[ 5] 21.00-22.00 sec 1.75 MBytes 14.7 Mbits/sec
[ 5] 22.00-23.00 sec 1.50 MBytes 12.6 Mbits/sec
[ 5] 23.00-24.00 sec 1.50 MBytes 12.6 Mbits/sec
[ 5] 24.00-25.00 sec 1.75 MBytes 14.7 Mbits/sec
[ 5] 25.00-26.00 sec 1.50 MBytes 12.6 Mbits/sec
[ 5] 26.00-27.00 sec 1.50 MBytes 12.6 Mbits/sec
[ 5] 27.00-28.00 sec 1.75 MBytes 14.7 Mbits/sec
[ 5] 28.00-29.00 sec 1.50 MBytes 12.6 Mbits/sec
[ 5] 29.00-30.00 sec 1.50 MBytes 12.6 Mbits/sec
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
[ ID] Interval Transfer Bandwidth
[ 5] 0.00-30.00 sec 45.9 MBytes 12.8 Mbits/sec sender
[ 5] 0.00-30.00 sec 45.9 MBytes 12.8 Mbits/sec receiver

iperf Done.
Are there specific commands I need to run to check for packet loss?
 

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Company Rep
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
6,419
I have downloaded iPerf and have gotten the following results. I will do them again later tonight when I experience slower download speeds.



Are there specific commands I need to run to check for packet loss?
Support would have given you the command to run no?
 
Top