Cool Ideas Fibre ISP – Feedback Thread 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

Prof.Merlin

Expert Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2006
Messages
1,571
@eddief1 are you seeing any fibre breaks on this side again? Everything seems to have slowed down to snail pace at 7AM with packetloss all over again
 

CrypticZA

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2019
Messages
409
Was streaming earlier and as soon as the rugby started started buffering like crazy and had to drop to 480P... Twitch is running fine though...
 

GlassMirror

Expert Member
Joined
Dec 11, 2015
Messages
2,233
Was streaming earlier and as soon as the rugby started started buffering like crazy and had to drop to 480P... Twitch is running fine though...
DSTVNow? Happened with me as well but that could be an issue with the app itself cause it won't be the first time Monochoice couldn't handle all the streamers
 

CrypticZA

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2019
Messages
409
DSTVNow? Happened with me as well but that could be an issue with the app itself cause it won't be the first time Monochoice couldn't handle all the streamers
No was not DSTVNow app, was another app i stream things through, was streaming Gold Rush for like an hour and 10 minutes and the last 13 minutes was just buffering like crazy (that was when England vs Australia) was on.

DSTVNow has in the past had a lot of issues.
 

GlassMirror

Expert Member
Joined
Dec 11, 2015
Messages
2,233
No was not DSTVNow app, was another app i stream things through, was streaming Gold Rush for like an hour and 10 minutes and the last 13 minutes was just buffering like crazy (that was when England vs Australia) was on.

DSTVNow has in the past had a lot of issues.
Still has issues with it though, only reason I'm using it is because my folks holds the account. After they cancel their account I might have to go use my other apps I have installed
 

CrypticZA

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2019
Messages
409
Strange, Cogent shouldn't be in the mix at the moment for that path. Please do another blizzard LG test for me when you have a chance.

So, here's the physics: Best ping we can get from CPT to LON is 140ms, variability about 4-5ms.

Previously from London, via LINX to Blizzard was terrible (major loss) so we disabled that route.

From our POP in london to AMSIX is 7ms (via Cogent or He) but quite variable and jittery, sometimes going up to 27ms. (Your pingplot shows this quite clearly too). The HE route goes HE->Level3->AMSIX which is the cause of the variance, transiting 2 networks on it's way.

View attachment 723230

So, best possible outcome is 147ms to AMSIX from Cape Town.

To address the variability: We have engaged with IXReach to directly attach to Amsix from our London POP via a dedicated Layer2 connection, and the alleged latency is 6ms from Telehouse to AMSIX.

This will take a few weeks to go live pending crossconnects etc in Telehouse.

This gives us best possible packet latency outcome of 146ms for Cape Town to Amsix (4-5ms variability)

Add 17ms on average up to Joburg gives us 163ms best possible packet latency outcome for Joburg users.

Then consider the fact that most game engines operate at a tick rate of 60 (1000/60=~16.6 ms) the best "in-game" ping for a Cape Town user will be ~163ms (4-5ms variability), and for Joburg users ~179ms (4-5ms variability)

This is pretty much what @Crypticwaat's screenshots and reports confirm as well.

Anway, I hope that the IXReach direct route to AMSIX will sort out some of the variability on the LON to AMSIX path.

Disclaimer: 4-5ms is average variability, 10-12 is probably more realistic.
@TheRoDent This explanation is this to both Paris and Amsterdam servers? Finding Blizzard is putting me a lot on Paris servers and ping is about 30ms higher on Paris than Amsterdam.
 

CrypticZA

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2019
Messages
409
Anyone having issues loading sites on CISP DNS? had to change to get anything to basically load....
 

walterg

Member
Joined
Aug 10, 2005
Messages
29
Why does MTN always go down in the Lone Hill area? This happens far too regularly. Down again today.
 

jannier

Expert Member
Joined
Jul 31, 2005
Messages
1,386
CPT DNS down or routing via JHB?

Code:
154.0.1.1

|------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
|                                      WinMTR statistics                                   |
|                       Host              -   %  | Sent | Recv | Best | Avrg | Wrst | Last |
|------------------------------------------------|------|------|------|------|------|------|
|                              router.lan -    0 |   13 |   13 |    0 |    0 |    0 |    0 |
|                            155.93.237.1 -    0 |   13 |   13 |    2 |    2 |    4 |    4 |
|                          102.132.175.34 -    0 |   13 |   13 |    2 |    3 |    6 |    6 |
|                         102.132.175.113 -    0 |   13 |   13 |    0 |    0 |    1 |    0 |
|                             154.0.4.162 -    0 |   13 |   13 |    0 |    0 |    1 |    0 |
|                             100.99.0.34 -    0 |   13 |   13 |   20 |   20 |   21 |   20 |
|                              154.0.4.53 -    0 |   13 |   13 |   21 |   21 |   21 |   21 |
|                             154.0.5.198 -    0 |   13 |   13 |   19 |   19 |   22 |   19 |
|                        cdns1.cisp.co.za -    0 |   13 |   13 |   21 |   21 |   26 |   21 |
|________________________________________________|______|______|______|______|______|______|
   WinMTR v0.92 GPL V2 by Appnor MSP - Fully Managed Hosting & Cloud Provider
Code:
154.0.1.10

|------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
|                                      WinMTR statistics                                   |
|                       Host              -   %  | Sent | Recv | Best | Avrg | Wrst | Last |
|------------------------------------------------|------|------|------|------|------|------|
|                              router.lan -    0 |   21 |   21 |    0 |    0 |    0 |    0 |
|                            155.93.237.1 -    0 |   21 |   21 |    2 |    3 |   21 |    2 |
|                          102.132.175.34 -    0 |   21 |   21 |    2 |    2 |    4 |    2 |
|                         102.132.175.113 -    0 |   21 |   21 |    0 |    0 |    1 |    1 |
|                             154.0.4.162 -    0 |   21 |   21 |    0 |    0 |    1 |    0 |
|                             100.99.0.34 -    0 |   21 |   21 |   20 |   20 |   21 |   20 |
|                             154.0.4.105 -    0 |   21 |   21 |   21 |   21 |   21 |   21 |
|                             154.0.5.198 -    0 |   21 |   21 |   21 |   21 |   21 |   21 |
|                       cache2.cisp.co.za -    0 |   21 |   21 |   21 |   21 |   24 |   21 |
|________________________________________________|______|______|______|______|______|______|
   WinMTR v0.92 GPL V2 by Appnor MSP - Fully Managed Hosting & Cloud Provider
 

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Company Rep
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
6,972
Why does MTN always go down in the Lone Hill area? This happens far too regularly. Down again today.
Checking for you, it's their NNI that dies, trying to get MTN to escalate or assist with anything goes into a blackhole.
 

PBCool

Cool Ideas
Company Rep
Joined
Jan 11, 2016
Messages
6,972
DNS should have rerouted to JHB briefly, should be back to normal. Apologies
 

cavedog

Honorary Master
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
15,500
Checking for you, it's their NNI that dies, trying to get MTN to escalate or assist with anything goes into a blackhole.
Tell me about it. Same with Supersonic. They had issues with Openserve and 2 month later I decided to cancel. Supersonic needs to escalate MTN and it just goes nowhere.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top